TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,917 Reviews & Articles | 38,125 News Posts

Lian Li PC-V352 B HTPC Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Lian Li stays inside the "box" and offers the PC-V352 B HTPC (or desktop) chassis.

| HTPC Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 28, 2010 10:13 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Lian Li

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_23.jpg

 

Basic assembly ensues! With all the removable components it makes assembly really easy. For instance I am able to install the motherboard, CPU cooler, memory, and the graphics card. I also went ahead and shortened up the fan wiring as I plan to control all three fans via this switch.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_24.jpg

 

A look at the back of the 5.25" to 3.5" adapter shows how the center bit can easily be removed and your favorite floppy drive can be installed. To secure the drive, grab the two small black screws and use the square openings in the sides of the adapter for access.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_25.jpg

 

To install an optical device, just remove the cover in the position you want to use, slide in the drive, and use a few thumbscrews to mount the drive into place. Keeping things simple, I installed the drive to be positioned with the I/O on the right side, as shipped. If your case sits to the right, install the drive in the other end of the sled.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_26.jpg

 

To install the hard drives you just slide one or up to three drives in the rack, and with the use of the larger, flatter thumbscrews, you mount them securely into the rack. At this point we are ready to start the assembly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_27.jpg

 

I snapped this image to show you just how tight the clearance is inside the PC-V352. Since the top level is supported all the way across the back at the same height, this means that the CPU cooler cannot be taller than the VGA, or you are going to have some issues. That is why I went simple and used the stock cooling solution for this review.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_28.jpg

 

I mentioned earlier that the right PSU is a must inside of this chassis. Things like powering the graphics card don't become that apparent until you have things already installed. While not the easiest task by any means, I was able to power my card, but the removal of those connections is where I had to get creative.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_29.jpg

 

With some creative wiring and a few more zip ties than what is supplied you can really make things look neat and tidy inside the PC-V352. I will warn you though, if you plan to fill all the bays with drives, it doesn't leave a lot of room for extra PSU wiring. Again, a modular PSU does solve this.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_30.jpg

 

Another consideration to the PSU choice is the length of the unit. With the shorter power supply that I have, the wiring hole is easily accessible. A longer PSU will not only cover the hole, but will make any extra room up top for wires simply vanish. The lower half is roomy enough for my GTS 250, and with the 120mm fan so close it really helps keep temperatures down here. All we have left to do is screw the panels back into place and power things up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3680_31.jpg

 

Once the PC-V352 is powered on the LEDs in the power and reset buttons are all you will even notice from a distance. Getting closer, there is a bit of an audible hum when the fans are set to the high position, but at the low setting it is practically inaudible. Even fully loaded with components, not much on the outside has changed and you are left with the same sleek, simple, yet elegant looking chassis that we started with.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases