Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,673 Reviews & Articles | 45,585 News Posts

StarTech ConvergeAV Triple Head DisplayPort to DVI Multi Monitor Adapter - The Box and ConvergeAV


By: | Cables & Adapters in Displays & Projectors | Posted: Nov 26, 2010 4:53 am
TweakTown Rating: 64%Manufacturer: StarTech

Package and Contents

 

The box that we received was not the full retail box. This one was certainly meant more for the press than what a real consumer would see. As such, we will not dwell on the outside but will dive straight into what was inside the box. We will note that the contents were packaged up very well and certainly would have handled rough shipping well.

 

content/3/6/3677_02.jpg

 

content/3/6/3677_03.jpg

 

Inside the box was not much more than a quick start guide and the actual ConvergeAV. This means that all of the $300 you spend is inside the device.

 

content/3/6/3677_08.jpg

 

The ConvergeAV

 

The ConvergeAV is a rather blocky item. It is shaped like a... well.... like a deformed half circle that tapers out at the edges.

 

content/3/6/3677_01.jpg

 

The front has three DVI- D Single Link connectors. There is a green LED next to each one to indicate they are active (there is a fourth one to indicate the device has power).

 

content/3/6/3677_04.jpg

 

The ConvergeAV is an active splitter. That means that it provides power to the connection in order to ensure there is no (or minimal) signal loss. This power is provided via a USB 2.0 connection.

 

content/3/6/3677_05.jpg

 

The bottom of the device shows us the model number (SP123DP2DVI) and a few regulatory logos. We also see that it is well ventilated. We hope this is not an indication that it needs this type of cooling to keep stable.

 

content/3/6/3677_06.jpg

 

Overall the design is clean and well laid out. The specs even look fairly decent, although they are still under what a typical AMD Eyefinity or even NVIDIA multi monitor setup can achieve (3840 x 1024+ for three monitors). In fact, the resolution limit for three monitors is listed as less than what is possible for two on Eyefinity/3D Vision at 3840x1200.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down