TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

StarTech ConvergeAV Triple Head DisplayPort to DVI Multi Monitor Adapter - The Box and ConvergeAV

Are you looking to expand your desktop, but do not own an AMD Eyefinity capable GPU? - StarTech might have an alternative for you with the ConvergeAV.

| Cables & Adapters in Displays & Projectors | Posted: Nov 26, 2010 4:53 am
TweakTown Rating: 64%Manufacturer: StarTech

Package and Contents

 

The box that we received was not the full retail box. This one was certainly meant more for the press than what a real consumer would see. As such, we will not dwell on the outside but will dive straight into what was inside the box. We will note that the contents were packaged up very well and certainly would have handled rough shipping well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_02.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_03.jpg

 

Inside the box was not much more than a quick start guide and the actual ConvergeAV. This means that all of the $300 you spend is inside the device.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_08.jpg

 

The ConvergeAV

 

The ConvergeAV is a rather blocky item. It is shaped like a... well.... like a deformed half circle that tapers out at the edges.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_01.jpg

 

The front has three DVI- D Single Link connectors. There is a green LED next to each one to indicate they are active (there is a fourth one to indicate the device has power).

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_04.jpg

 

The ConvergeAV is an active splitter. That means that it provides power to the connection in order to ensure there is no (or minimal) signal loss. This power is provided via a USB 2.0 connection.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_05.jpg

 

The bottom of the device shows us the model number (SP123DP2DVI) and a few regulatory logos. We also see that it is well ventilated. We hope this is not an indication that it needs this type of cooling to keep stable.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3677_06.jpg

 

Overall the design is clean and well laid out. The specs even look fairly decent, although they are still under what a typical AMD Eyefinity or even NVIDIA multi monitor setup can achieve (3840 x 1024+ for three monitors). In fact, the resolution limit for three monitors is listed as less than what is possible for two on Eyefinity/3D Vision at 3840x1200.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Displays & Projectors content at our Displays & Projectors reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases