TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,006 Reviews & Articles | 38,757 News Posts

BitFenix Survivor Mid Tower Chassis - Inside The BitFenix Survivor Mid Tower Case

Round two with BitFenix, this time with a Mid Tower entry!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 10, 2010 4:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: BitFenix

Inside The BitFenix Survivor Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_16.jpg

 

I already removed the cover at the top of the chassis, and am in the process of removing the bottom section. All it takes is the removal of a pair of Phillips head screws found in the bottom of two long holes. Once these are out of the way you can access the interior of the chassis, or for security sake, you see what someone would have to go through to steal your components.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_17.jpg

 

With the lower section of the SoftTouch coated plastic we also gain access to the dust filter. While it may physically come out with the outer plastic trim in place, I found no way to get a hold of it to try to pull it out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_18.jpg

 

With the panels out of the way we can get an idea of what the inside looks like and offers us to work with. Strapped to the hard drive racks I found a white box with all the hardware and goodies you will need to truly enjoy using the Survivor.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_19.jpg

 

The top section of hard drives is removable to allow for longer VGAs to be installed inside. The lower section is riveted to the floor, and not removable. Each tray in the racks will accept 2.5" drives with screws through the bottom of the drives. To use them with 3.5" drives you just stretch the tray around the drive and slide the tray back into the rack.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_21.jpg

 

The motherboard tray has a very large CPU access hole and should offer compatibility with any setup. At the very top and down the right side you will find holes to run all the various wiring. Along with punched out wire tie loops and a large hole near the PSU, wire management is very well addressed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_22.jpg

 

Looking up in the top of the Survivor you can see how well he 200mm fan can still breathe even with the handle blocking a large bit of the exiting airflow, but still offers enough room for sufficient flow from the fan. At the right you can see where all the wiring connects to the PCBs. With all the wiring involved it will take a bit of tucking to use the top optical bay without running into this wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_23.jpg

 

There is a bunch of wiring that goes along with the Survivor. At the left there are 4-pin Molex connections to power the USB 3.0 and the fan power. These along with a couple of 3-pin headers and some connections to use with the fan controller are what are bunched on the left. The twisted, colored groups of wiring will make for all of you motherboard connectivity. To the right there is the USB 2.0, audio, eSATA, and the pair of USB 3.0 cables round out the wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_24.jpg

 

Behind the tray you will find over 20mm of space for your wiring, and I found it very easy to run the 24-pin wire and bunching other groups of wiring is not a problem. With all the tie spots and the management holes, it results in a very clean looking build.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3643_25.jpg

 

At the bottom of the chassis, behind the motherboard tray, you will find this fan controller. Looking at their website I found there is a specific way to plug in the fan controller and the switch wiring. Make sure you refer to the instructions when you attempt to use this connection.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases