TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,675 Reviews & Articles | 36,068 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

GlideTV Navigator Wireless Media Remote w/ Touchpad - The Navigator

As the Home Theatre grows in scope the time is ripe for new gadgets in the living room. Today we look at GlideTV - A great compliment to the HTPC.

| Players & Accessories in HT & Movies | Posted: Nov 8, 2010 7:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: GlideTV

The Navigator

 

As we said, the Navigator is a small device. Thanks to the design it fits firmly in your hand and all of the functions are available to your fingers and thumb. The weight is negligible, but enough that you know it is in your hand.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_01.jpg

 

Although the image here is upside down, it gives you a good representation of the layout of the buttons. The central touchpad also has multiple functions. It can be "clicked" by pressing it down as well as used to scroll back and forth, and up and down. Around the touchpad you also see buttons; these provide shortcuts to certain functions that can be found on most media center remotes (like Back, Esc, Guide, etc).

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_09.jpg

 

The top button with the GlideTV logo offers a couple of uses. Pressing this gets you back to the GlideTV application (if you are not currently in it). Double clicking this button gets you a quick guide to the functions of the Navigator including options available in a few different applications. Beneath this we have a trio of volume buttons (up, down, and mute). On the left corner is a power button; this puts your system into something close to hibernate mode, but is more like an advanced power down state.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_10.jpg

 

On the other side of the Navigator we find a search button. This search button can be used either as a general search or inside an application. Pressing it brings up a virtual keyboard that you can type on using the Navigator or with a keyboard attached to the system. Below the touchpad is another trio of buttons. These are for the playback, Play/Pause, forward and back.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_12.jpg

 

Along the bottom are four contact points; these are to charge the internal batteries. The source of the power is from the base. This can be setup to charge from a USB port or from the wall. The dual power source gives you excellent flexibility for placement in the room where the GlideTV will be. You can put it up by the PC and use a USB port for charging or you can put it by the seating area and use normal wall power. This is a nice decision on the part of GlideTV.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_13.jpg

 

The last item of importance for the Navigator is the USB RF adapter. Again, this is an excellent choice because it allows for ease of use and the ability to "fire and forget" as there is no need to maintain line of site with the transponder.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_11.jpg

 

So, from a hardware standpoint we have what appears to be an excellent product with some thought put into it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_40.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_41.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_42.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3640_43.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more HT & Movies content at our HT & Movies reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below