TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,037 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

ASUS ROG Rampage III Formula (Intel X58 Express) Motherboard - Real-World Tests Part II

We take a look at the "mid" level ASUS ROG X58 offering in the Rampage III Formula to see if it has what it takes to keep that name.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Nov 3, 2010 10:18 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: ASUS

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose use multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***
Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 


Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2; it caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

 

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise, it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_81.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_82.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_57.png

 

The results here are interesting in that they show a very odd trend. In many cases overclocking the CPU seems to have an adverse effect on the gaming performance. This is a trend we are seeing more often and one that would seem to be the opposite of most thinking. At stock speeds the RIIIF does great with MW2, although again if you saw it you would not be able to pick it out of a lineup.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here, so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven, so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

 

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_83.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_58.png

 

Far Cry 2 shows us more of the same; solid stock performance and a drop when overclocked. The RIIIF does well here at stock speeds.

 


Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_84.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3627_59.png

 

Aahh, now the results are all over the place. We have an overclocked board at the top and the stock RIIIF at the bottom. However, all of the minimum frame rates are well above the 28-32 mark, so you would still get good gaming from any of these products.

 


Gaming Conclusion

 

There is not much to say about gaming at this point. The RIIIF is a good gaming board that has some very gaming oriented features. These are things like the X-Fi software, as well as the Game First QoS software. These two cannot be measured in the testing we have done here as they are both very subjective. Still, they combine with the results we saw here to make a good product even better for this type of use.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases