TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,223 News Posts

CoolIT Systems Omni AC-N470 A.L.C. VGA Cooler - Accessories and Documentation, Fit and Finish

We have all seen their all-in-one water cooling solutions for CPUs. it's time now to see what CoolIT offers for VGA cooling.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 3, 2010 3:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: CoolIT Systems

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_16.jpg

 

With the Omni, you get a simple set of instructions on how to install the cooler both on the card and how to install the radiator in the chassis. Along with the well drawn and written instructions you will receive the bulk of the hardware kit; four screws.

 

That is all you need besides the card and cards screws to get underway. Simply screw these four screws into the back of the fan with any accommodating 120mm hole in your case.

 

Fit and Finish

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_17.jpg

 

The test subject, again my vanilla EVGA GTX 470, is up for more torture.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_18.jpg

 

With the card prepped and ready for assembly, we can now fit the Omni to the card.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_19.jpg

 

Using twelve of the screws that you removed from the factory cooler, you align the threaded holes in the Omni with the factory holes and secure the screws. Of course, you should have peeled all the plastic off the underside of the interposer plate prior to installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_20.jpg

 

Wow! The Omni is really low profile. Once the plate is secured to the card, the sleek black plate sits a little short of even a stock one slot cooler. Definitely no clearance issues here for other cards or even a dual GPU setup. You just need to have room for both radiators.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_21.jpg

 

Looking at the way it covers the card, CoolIT has put a lot of thought into it. While it covers the majority of the left side of the card, they added ventilation to the caps at the right end. Even with adding the large holes at the end for the caps, the Omni is a solid component and the way the hoses run up naturally, there is little force down and the Omni doesn't weigh the card down when it is mounted in the case.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_22.jpg

 

Now that we have covered both ends of the unit and the installation, I thought it was only appropriate to see the completed unit ready to install in my chassis.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases