TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,246 Reviews & Articles | 40,726 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

CoolIT Systems Omni AC-N470 A.L.C. VGA Cooler - The CoolIT Omni AC-N470 VGA Cooler

We have all seen their all-in-one water cooling solutions for CPUs. it's time now to see what CoolIT offers for VGA cooling.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 3, 2010 3:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: CoolIT Systems

The CoolIT Omni AC-N470 VGA Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_07.jpg

 

Starting with the radiator, you get a good look at the pump, routing, and the bracket used to give the pump a place to work. With the options being limited as to where CoolIT could place the pump, I would rather it be here than on the plate. The pump is powered with a 3-pin fan header to allow voltage control with 3rd party software, the Maestro Software, or BIOS controls.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_08.jpg

 

Mainly I wanted to show how thick the pump assembly is. Locating the pump where it is, there shouldn't be issues with mosfet heatsinks or access to the 8-pin connection, should you need to. Don't forget, this doesn't have to hang in the back. Pretty much any 120mm fan hole will do as long as there is a bit of room around it for clearance of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_09.jpg

 

On the opposite side there is a 120mm fan applied to the radiator and is set up to exhaust from this side. The cable for the fan is really short, but makes for a very clean install where with the previous coolers I always had to tie up this wire. This is the same fan we found on both other all-in-one coolers from CoolIT.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_10.jpg

 

From this angle we get to look at the fittings and fill port. Of course, the top fitting with the flat cap is where CoolIT fills the loop. Under it is the supply to the pump and the fitting here is pretty rigid due to the short length of the hose. Off the side of the pump, the 90° fitting does swivel to offer a better position for the hoses in certain installations. That leaves us with the bottom fitting, which can move a bit, but the ball and socket fitting limits the motion.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_12.jpg

 

Following the hoses to where they meet up with the actual cooling plate, you first run into a pair of 90° fittings that swivel to allow for a bit more flexibility during installation. From the fittings, CoolIT runs two lengths of hose to the fittings on the plate. While this is a great idea for modularity and really clean looking installations, it does make the card just over 12" in length, so clearance may be a consideration for some.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_13.jpg

 

The base of the interposer plates has everything you will need to install this version to a GTX 470. There are plastic covers for the thermal pads for the memory and power management, and those are taped down to make sure they don't move in transit. The copper base of the plate has thermal paste already applied, and gets protected with a clear plastic cover, again taped for added security. The mounting holes that are on the plate, twelve of them, all line up with the factory cooler holes in the PCB, and use the same screws.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_14.jpg

 

Since I used the pre applied paste for testing, I waited until after to clean off the TIM and expose the copper base for an image. The finish is almost a mirror shine and when tested against a razor, I found the only deviation to be at the corners, and there it isn't an issue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3626_15.jpg

 

With this being a universal cooler, they have to make sure they leave room for future upgrades, or if you decide to go from the green team to the red team, you can get with CoolIT about another plate. To swap them out, you just need to remove the eight screws from this side and replace the underside. The barbs are set in the top plate, so there won't be any tubing issues, but if you are going to open up the cooler, be sure to expect some coolant. Being a sealed loop, there is no way to drain it prior to loosening the screws unless you were to pull the hose loose.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases