TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,053 Reviews & Articles | 38,935 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Acer Aspire TimelineX 1830T-68U118 11.6-inch Notebook - Performance - A/V Encoding, Battery Life, Boot Time, and Power Consumption

Acer's new TimelineX is big on battery life and small where it counts, making for a very interesting little ultraportable.

| Standard Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Nov 2, 2010 5:13 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Acer

The CPU-Z screenshot for the notebook is below:

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_8.png

 

A/V Encoding and Battery Life

 

The Acer Aspire TimelineX 1830T-68U118 will be run through the standard notebook/netbook test regime here at TweakTown. This includes iTunes Encoding and Media Transcoding plus Battery Eater Pro for battery life estimation. This machine will also be put through our expanded benchmark regime with the addition of boot time, PCMark Vantage, SuperPi, and Cinebench.

 

All systems are tested "as is", which means operating systems and drivers can and do vary and some come pre-installed with applications that may or may not affect performance. Any anti-virus or security applications are disabled and uninstalled before any testing is started as they can affect test numbers.

 

For the iTunes encoding test I take Stone Temple Pilots - Core CD album in MP3 format and encode it to AAC format using iTunes and time the results with a stopwatch.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_9.png

 

The Acer Aspire TimelineX 1830T-68U118 was exactly in the middle of the pack in this benchmark.

 

For the movie encoding test I take the Microsoft Magic of Flight VC-1 WMV video with six channel audio (1080p HD) and transcode it to XviD (1080p HD) with LAME MP3 two channel audio and a MP4 container using MediaCoder 0.7.3.4616 32-bit edition.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_10.png

 

The Acer Aspire TimelineX 1830T-68U118 had the fourth lowest score recorded for this benchmark. Video encoding is not the strong suit here.

 

Battery Eater Pro is very hard on batteries, so you are likely to get more run time in the real world, depending on how you use the machine. Since we compare all laptops and netbooks the exact same way, though, it creates a fair and balanced playing field for our comparisons.

 

For the power saving mode test I run the machine in 'Power Saver' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 50%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 5%.

 

For the performance mode test I run the machine in 'High Performance' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 100%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 100%. Do note that some systems even when set to 100% CPU may force drop down the clock speed when AC power is lost.

 

Wireless is kept enabled during all tests and nothing else unusual is disabled. Time is rounded up to the nearest minute.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_11.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_12.png

 

Battery life is definitely a strong suit for the Acer Aspire TimelineX 1830T-68U118, posting a top four finish or better in both these battery tests.

 

We measured boot time using a stopwatch and timed from the point we turned the system on until the very first point the desktop was reached and fully loaded.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_19.png

 

The Acer Aspire TimelineX 1830T-68U118 was a mere three seconds from dead last in boot time.

 

The power consumed by the machine under full load using Prime95 and at idle is recorded with a Kill A Watt wall outlet measuring device and rounded to the nearest watt.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_17.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3625_18.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases