Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
7,525 Reviews & Articles | 55,431 News Posts

Smooth Creations "Battlefield" Phenom II X6 1090T Custom Gaming PC

By: Tim Roper | Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Nov 1, 2010 4:10 pm
Comment () | Email to a Friend | Font Size: AA
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Smooth Creations

Gaming Performance

 

TweakTown strives to provide our readers with a reasonable expectation of what they can expect in terms of real-world performance in our gaming tests. Instead of testing all systems and titles at, say, 1280x768 with 4xAA and comparing framerates, we determine a particular system's maximum playable settings and report those settings along with the resultant framerates.

 

Even though this makes direct comparison between systems a bit more difficult, we feel it best reflects how the typical gamer uses a system. Most players aren't interested in getting framerates in the 100s at 1280x768 if the title is still playable at 1680x1050.

 


Batman: Arkham Asylum

 

content/3/6/3622_151.jpg

 

Using Arkham Asylum's built-in benchmarking tool (included in Patch 1.1), we achieved maximum playable settings at 1920x1080 with 16xAA and "Very High" performance settings.

 

content/3/6/3622_98.png

 

Frame rates were as follows. 90 max, 36 min, with an average of 65.

 


Far Cry 2

 

content/3/6/3622_152.jpg

 

We ran Far Cry 2 with all the settings maxed out at 1920x1080, 8xAA, and Ultra High detail level.

 

content/3/6/3622_99.png

 

It averaged 85 fps, with a high of 155 and a low of 36.

 


Battlefield: Bad Company 2

 

content/3/6/3622_153.jpg

 

And now for the machine's namesake title.

 

content/3/6/3622_100.png

 

At 1920x1080, we pulled in an average of 83 fps, with a maximum of 116 and a minimum of 63.

 


BioShock

 

content/3/6/3622_154.jpg

 

content/3/6/3622_101.png

 

No surprise here. The system cranked out an average of 293, with a max of 453 and min of 167 at 1920x1080 and Very High detail level.

 

For an in-depth review of the capabilities of the ATI HD 5970, see here.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

loading