TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,138 Reviews & Articles | 39,438 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Gateway ID49C13u 14-inch Notebook - Performance - A/V Encoding, Battery Life, Boot Time, and Power Consumption

Gateway offers up a new notebook that is aimed at the multimedia enthusiast with some nice features and an odd glowing track pad. Read on for all of the details.

| Standard Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Oct 29, 2010 3:32 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%Manufacturer: Gateway

The CPU-Z screenshot for the notebook is below:

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_7.png

 

A/V Encoding and Battery Life

 

The Gateway ID49C13u will be run through the standard notebook/netbook test regime here at TweakTown. This includes iTunes Encoding and Media Transcoding plus Battery Eater Pro for battery life estimation. This machine will also be put through our expanded benchmark regime with the addition of boot time, PCMark Vantage, SuperPi and Cinebench.

 

All systems are tested "as is", which means operating systems and drivers can and do vary and some come pre-installed with applications that may or may not affect performance. Any anti-virus or security applications are disabled and uninstalled before any testing is started as they can affect test numbers.

 

For the iTunes encoding test I take Stone Temple Pilots - Core CD album in MP3 format and encode it to AAC format using iTunes and time the results with a stopwatch.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_8.png

 

The Gateway ID49C13u took second place in this benchmark flexing its MP3 encoding muscles.

 

For the movie encoding test I take the Microsoft Magic of Flight VC-1 WMV video with six channel audio (1080p HD) and transcode it to XviD (1080p HD) with LAME MP3 two channel audio and a MP4 container using MediaCoder 0.7.3.4616 32-bit edition.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_9.png

 

The Gateway ID49C13u ended up in sixth place for this benchmark, which was a surprise with such a good showing in the iTunes encoding test.

 

Battery Eater Pro

 

Battery Eater Pro is very hard on batteries, so you are likely to get more run time in the real world, depending on how you use the machine. Since we compare all laptops and netbooks the exact same way, though, it creates a fair and balanced playing field for our comparisons.

 

For the power saving mode test I run the machine in 'Power Saver' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 50%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 5%.

 

For the performance mode test I run the machine in 'High Performance' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 100%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 100%. Do note that some systems even when set to 100% CPU may force drop down the clock speed when AC power is lost.

 

Wireless is kept enabled during all tests and nothing else unusual is disabled. Time is rounded up to the nearest minute.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_10.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_11.png

 

The Gateway ID49C13u was mid pack or worse for battery life. That is no surprise given the price of this notebook and the hardware inside the machine.

 

Boot Time

 

We measured boot time using a stopwatch and timed from the point we turned the system on until the very first point the desktop was reached and fully loaded.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_18.png

 

The Gateway ID49C13u took third for boot time.

 

Power Consumption

 

This is a newer benchmark here at TweakTown so we don't have a huge number of systems for comparison. The power consumed by the machine under full load using Prime95 and at idle is recorded with a Kill A Watt wall outlet measuring device and rounded to the nearest watt.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_16.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3617_17.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases