TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,477 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master SF-19 Strike Force Notebook Cooler - The Antec Notebook Cooler 200

Looks, lighting, USB 3.0, and superior cooling. These are all what you are about to see with Cooler Masters new SF-19 Strike Force notebook cooler.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 28, 2010 9:40 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Antec Notebook Cooler 200

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_07.jpg

 

With the SF-19 out of the box you can see it is very thick and rugged looking. The outside and bottom of the unit are plastic, the center is made of steel mesh, and the raised sections including the CM STORM logo are made from anti-skid rubber. This is designed to hold up to a 19" laptop. But with the structural bump in the mesh, the top can support smaller laptops as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_08.jpg

 

On the left you find the longer LED On/Off button and the smaller one to its right that controls the lighting color or colors. That leaves us with the dial fan speed controller. This is a step-less dial so every minute change is felt, and you can customize the amount of noise and airflow. At the very left of the SF-19 there is the corner wire management. It is split to allow you to easily insert a wire and it will be held in place at the top or bottom of the opening.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_09.jpg

 

Across the back you will see all three pieces of rubber. These act as both the wire management and keeping the laptop secure on top, but also wrap under the unit for anti-skid footing. The larger feet in the back make for an angle of 7.5° which I did find comfortable to use after a bit of typing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_10.jpg

 

On the right side you will find four USB 3.0 jacks and a micro-B jack for connectivity to your laptop. These are reverse compatible so all of your USB and USB 2.0 devices will work; you just get the latest in technology with the option to run USB 3.0. To the very right of the USB ports is where the 12V jack is located to power the SF-19.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_11.jpg

 

Looking through the SF-19 you can see just how much surface area the dual 140mm fans cover inside the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_12.jpg

 

Under the cooler I found a pair of tabs that released the fans from the SF-19. I had to unplug the fans to get this far, so keep that in mind as you open the bottom of yours. Once the 3-pin connections were removed I could see how these fans are implemented. Each is on their own removable assembly and has the option to be moved slightly if you want to.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_13.jpg

 

When I disconnected the fans and took a closer look, I found that both sides of the unit can actually power two fans. I know there isn't room on the inside for more fans, but it does bring things to mind like a homemade fan to keep your hands cool.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_14.jpg

 

To clean or reposition the fans just push in the rectangular button. This releases two of the latches in the fan assembly and as you lift the fan you slide it forward to allow the other two latches to come out of the holes. This idea is very similar to the fans on the NotePal U3, just in a much larger 140mm version this time.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3615_15.jpg

 

As I was going to replace the fans, I got a close up of the two clear windows underneath the SF-19. This is where the flood of LED lighting will emanate from once the unit has power.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases