TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,911 Reviews & Articles | 38,070 News Posts

NETGEAR ProSafe GS110TP POE (Power over Ethernet) 8-Port Smart Switch - WebUI Part II

In our ongoing series of bringing the enterprise to the home, we are taking a look at a new Power over Ethernet Switch from NETGEAR today - The ProSafe GS110TP.

| Switches in Networking | Posted: Oct 14, 2010 10:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%      Manufacturer: NETGEAR

Switching

 

The Switching menu covers the heart of what the GS110TP does; this is switching so that data can get from point A to point B. But there are always things that can slow down or hinder data from getting to where it needs to be.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_37.png

 

One of the nice things about the GS110TP is that you can configure each port individually for almost everything. As you can see above, you can even label each port in the WebUI. This can let you know exactly what should and what should not be running. You also have the option of configuring the max frame size on a per port basis when most switches run all or nothing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_38.png

 

The Link Aggregation Protocol page is also much more in depth than others in its price range and class. With the LAG settings you can choose the pairings and setup one of four groups (as there are only 8 ports). You have options for setting up things per port as well as tell the LAG grouping what version of the Spanning Tree Protocol you are using.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_39.png

 

Speaking of the Spanning Tree Protocol (STP), that is where we find ourselves next. Here you can setup the type of Spanning Tree Protocol you want to use for your multi-node network. You can choose from the older (and slower) STP, the much quicker RSTP (Rapid STP), or MSTP (Multiple STP). With MSTP you can manage multiple legs and STP types with a Common Spanning Tree (CST). This allows you to incorporate multiple VLANs into a common spanning tree easily. For our purposes the RSTP was the best choice as we have it in place in our other smart switches.

 

Quality of Service

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_41.png

 

The QoS pages (like everything else) give you some very impressive per-port controls. True, you can also set this globally, but it is nice to be able to set the QoS type and priority for each individual port. You can also classify your traffic using the COS options available and map your ports based on 802.1p protocol or by DSCP (Differentiated Services Code Point).

 

Security

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_42.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_43.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_44.png

 

One of the biggest items that the ProSafe GS110TP brings to the table is the Security available to you. You have multiple levels and types of security to ensure that the traffic on your network is really yours.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_45.png

 

In this way the ProSafe GS110TP would be an excellent choice for a network administrator that is interested in maintaining a secure network.

 

Monitoring

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_48.png

 

The monitoring tab is what you would expect; not much to talk about here. You can monitor the ports, LAGs, and other functions of the GS110TP like port mirroring (setting two ports to transmit identical data); this is useful for diagnosing network issues or to monitor suspicious data.

 

Maintenance

 

The last page we will talk about is the Maintenance page. Here you can reboot the GS110TP, reset to factory defaults, save the configuration file, or install a new one as well as manage the backup image the GS110TP keeps.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_49.png

 

Like we said, the GS110TP has a ton of features and options stuffed into its small package. We have only scratched the surface of what it can really do. However, in the interest of time and you (our readers), we will leave this description brief.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases