TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,073 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

NETGEAR ProSafe GS110TP POE (Power over Ethernet) 8-Port Smart Switch - The GS110TP

In our ongoing series of bringing the enterprise to the home, we are taking a look at a new Power over Ethernet Switch from NETGEAR today - The ProSafe GS110TP.

| Switches in Networking | Posted: Oct 14, 2010 10:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%      Manufacturer: NETGEAR

The GS110TP

 

The GS110TP is a small device. It is only 9.3 inches long by 4 inches deep and about1 inch tall. Yet it manages to pack quite a bit of features into this small box. In fact, this is the smallest full 8-port GBe POE managed switch that I have worked with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_01.jpg

 

I was very surprised to read all of the functions that are available to you when this is attached to your network. In this small box you get up to 46 Watts of nominal power across the 8 ports; each of these can have their own schedule for turning on and shutting off the power to the devices attached. This is great for anyone interested in lowering their power bill. Here you can also see a reset switch. This only power cycles the switch and does not reset any of your settings. It is like a power button, but one that is not easy to accidentally press.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_08.jpg

 

Another feature that I found to be surprising is that fact that there are two independent (not shared) SFP ports for fiber connections. This means that you can connect this to a much faster fiber back bone for data uplink and still keep the other 8 ports available for use. In this shot you can see the factory defaults button. This is the one you press when you are ready to wipe all of your settings and start again.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_07.jpg

 

The ProSafe GS110TP has a durable metal shell protecting the internal components and can also act like a heat sink to help keep the interior cool. Due to its size (and some extras thrown in according to NETGEAR) the GS110TP does not require any active cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_05.jpg

 

The back of the GS110TP has a small vent on it as well as the power port, a locking port (for a cable lock) and a grounding pin to make sure that this device is properly grounded (some sites require the unit to be grounded while in place). That is pretty much all there is to the outside; it is interesting because of its small design and construction, but it is not what you would call an attractive product.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_14.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_15.png

 

Looking at the general specs, you see what you would expect from a typical GBe switch.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_16.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3586_17.png

 

It is not until we take a look at the Administrative Management specs that we see just how much is packed into this little device. Some of the items of particular interest are that you can really lock down this switch to prevent unauthorized access to the network.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below