TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

MSI GT660R-004US 16-inch Gaming Notebook - Performance - A/V Encoding, Battery Life, Boot Time, and Power Consumption

Today we get our mitts on the new MSI GT660R-004US gaming notebook for testing and to find out if it's worth the money. Read on to find out more!

| Gaming Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Oct 13, 2010 3:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: MSI

Below is the CPU-Z screen shot so you can see what the machine has inside.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_1.png

 

A/V Encoding and Battery Life

 

The MSI GT660R-004US will be run through the standard notebook/netbook test regime here at TweakTown. This includes iTunes Encoding and Media Transcoding plus Battery Eater Pro for battery life estimation. This machine will also be put through our new expanded benchmark regime with the addition of boot time, PCMark Vantage, SuperPi, and Cinebench.

 

All systems are tested "as is", which means operating systems and drivers can and do vary and some come pre-installed with applications that may or may not affect performance. Any anti-virus or security applications are disabled and uninstalled before any testing is started as they can affect test numbers.

 

For the iTunes encoding test I take Stone Temple Pilots - Core CD album in MP3 format and encode it to AAC format using iTunes and time the results with a stopwatch.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_9.png

 

The MSI GT660R-004US was surprisingly bad for audio encoding, landing in the bottom three of all machines tested.

 

For the movie encoding test I take the Microsoft Magic of Flight VC-1 WMV video with six channel audio (1080p HD) and transcode it to XviD (1080p HD) with LAME MP3 two channel audio and a MP4 container using MediaCoder 0.7.3.4616 32-bit edition.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_10.png

 

The MSI GT660R-004US was number four here with only gaming rigs costing more being ahead of it.

 

Battery Eater Pro

 

Battery Eater Pro is very hard on batteries, so you are likely to get more run time in the real world, depending on how you use the machine. Since we compare all laptops and netbooks the exact same way though, it creates a fair and balanced playing field for our comparisons.

 

For the power saving mode test I run the machine in 'Power Saver' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 50%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 5%.

 

For the performance mode test I run the machine in 'High Performance' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 100%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 100%. Do note that some systems even when set to 100% CPU may force drop down the clock speed when AC power is lost.

 

Wireless is kept enabled during all tests and nothing else unusual is disabled. Time is rounded up to the nearest minute.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_11.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_12.png

 

The MSI GT660R-004US has decent battery life and is one of the longest lasting gaming notebooks tested.

 

Boot Time

 

We measured boot time using a stopwatch and timed from the point we turned the system on until the very first point the desktop was reached and fully loaded.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_19.png

 

The MSI GT660R-004US landed in the middle of the pack in this benchmark.

 

Power Consumption

 

The power consumed by the machine under full load using Prime95 and at idle is recorded with a Kill A Watt wall outlet measuring device and rounded to the nearest watt.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_17.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3581_18.png

 

The GT660R-004US is horrible in this benchmark, drawing more power just sitting there than the other two machines I have tested in this new benchmark at full tilt.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below