TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,766 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

SilverStone Sugo Series SST-SG07B Small Form Factor Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

We love it when big things arrive in tiny packages. Take a look at what SilverStone offers up in the SST-SG07B.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 8, 2010 4:14 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_19.jpg

 

Installing the hard drive into the middle of the rack is simple, but make sure you don't install it as I have here. The hard drive should fit within the frame. As I found when I went to fit this, the part of the drive hanging out gets in the way of it fitting really fast. The slim optical drive uses tiny screws, and they must be passed through holes in the side of this mounting plate. It takes a steady hand and a small driver, but with patience it can be overcome.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_20.jpg

 

Remember when I said the instructions pointed to the need for a 90° SATA cable; this is exactly why. The compact nature of the SG07 is not very friendly when it comes to reassembly. As you can see, without the right SATA cable there is no way to mount the drive. Since I loaded everything to USB storage for this build and testing, I will just use this as display later, not connected.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_21.jpg

 

As I assembled the components into the chassis ideas on wiring sort of hit you as you test things. I would suggest not mounting anything at first glance. Just patiently set things in, and look around for a good solution. I was able to do things like hide the I/O wiring under the motherboard, and route SATA cables on the floor under everything. Keeping the PSU wiring under control was tough at first, but with a couple of ideas and rearranging of the wires I was able to get a clean looking finished product, and all the reassembly fit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_22.jpg

 

The GTX 470 I tested in here has plenty of room for installation. Even if you wanted to stuff a HD 5970 inside of this tiny little chassis, SilverStone made room for that as well. The "plate" used to mount the cards is a bit tricky to get on and off as it sits really close to the power plug. Even with that, the card is held in place as solidly as if it were screwed right to the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_23.jpg

 

Since I usually build m-ITX chassis with an ATOM board from Zotac, I didn't have an issue with any sort of height restrictions for the cooler. If you plan a build in here and want something other than the stock cooler, I read that the Samuel 17 is a good solution to your needs. To power the 180mm Air Penetrator I plugged mine into the CPU cooler header on the motherboard so I could have temperature control of it. Something to consider is that your m-ITX has another fan header, or you will need to purchase an adapter to power this via 4-pin Molex Power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_24.jpg

 

Before I added the top of the chassis back to the SG0, I thought it was a good time to point out the "hero" of this chassis design. Without the 180mm workhorse, the SG07 would soon be baking cookies in no time. This fan covers the dimensions of the m-ITX I used and will blow air down and on to anything and everything above the GPU. With all the ventilated section for each of the individualized compartments for the GPU, motherboard, and power supply. The SG07 stands to be one of the coolest SFF chassis I have tried out so far.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_25.jpg

 

For my testing I chose not to use the dust cover in the chassis. My card is already dirty, so I'm not really worried about what it is going to draw in here. For this image I wanted you to get an idea of what the view would be if you were to choose the windowed version of this chassis over the ventilated version we have here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3573_26.jpg

 

Behind the chassis everything found its places. The majority of the back is now enclosed and should force the aire out the sides and bottom as SilverStone designed into the chassis. The GTX 470 does get a large enough hole to set in as not to block off the venting on the GPU.

 

[img]27[/img]

 

Here we see the SST-SG07B as it would sit on your desk or even on a shelf next to your home theater. Under power, the only thing that changes is the slight hum of the fan, and a tiny blue LED light to signify it is in fact on.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases