TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,168 News Posts

GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H (890GX) Motherboard - The Motherboard

GIGABYTE offers up a respectable 890GX powered board for AMD fans with what looks to be a great balance between features and price.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Oct 8, 2010 3:18 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

The Board

 

The layout of the 890GPA-UD3H is fairly clean with very little to clutter it up. Even around the bulky plastic mounting bracket for the CPU fan the 890GPA-UD3H manages to stay clean.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_01.jpg

 

Looking at the area around the CPU (now that we have mentioned it), we find some of the normal items including four DDR3 slots, the AM3 socket and a 24-Pin ATX power socket. We also see that GIGABYTE has left a PATA port on the board to handle legacy devices.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_05.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_06.jpg

 

Moving to take a look at the power regulation, we see part of the "4+1" phase setup that GIGABYTE talks about on the box. They have the solid caps lined up very neatly and you can see the chokes hidden under the large heatsink. You can also see the cooling for the 890GX Northbridge. It has a nice stylized look to it; we only hope that it can also keep the chipset cool as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_10.jpg

 

Looking at the lower half of the board, we can see that the 890GPA-UD3H has been designed for good flexibility. The three PCIe x1 slots are great for items like TV tuners, add-in audio cards and even network cards. The two x16 mechanical slots are unfortunately not both x16; only the top slot is x16 while the other is x8. There are also two PCI slots just to round things out (wow, I can remember when the ISA [Industry Standard Architecture] slot was the legacy throw back). You can also see two 1394a headers, yet there are no brackets included.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_07.jpg

 

Flipping over to the other side of the board, we find the six SATA 3.0 ports along with two white ports that are still SATA II, but are controlled by GIGABYTE's own RAID controller. There is something else that I want to draw your attention to on the board. Printed just above the USB headers are the words "ON/OFF Charge". This is interesting only because it was not mentioned on the box at all. With more devices getting their juice from USB cables, this would be a big deal and one that I would have thought would show up on the packaging.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_08.jpg

 

The I/O ports are nothing to write home about, but they will certainly get the job done. The one thing to take careful note of is the DVI port. This is DVI-D only; you will not be able to use any other cables without an adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3571_09.jpg

 

In general the GIGABYTE GA890GPA-UD3H is a board designed with flexibility in mind. It does not appear to be built to knock your socks off, but to give you the widest range of build options. Now let's see how it performs.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases