TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,238 News Posts

ASUS G73JW-A1 17.3-inch Gaming Notebook - Performance - A/V Encoding, Battery Life, Boot Time, and Power Consumption

What happens when ASUS takes its G73JH gaming notebook and crams more power in with a new NVIDIA GPU inside? Read on to find out.

| Gaming Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Oct 7, 2010 3:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Below is the CPU-Z screen shot so you can see what the machine has inside. I'm not sure why CPU-Z says Core i7 820QM under the name section. The CPU in this machine is the 740QM.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_21.png

 

A/V Encoding and Battery Life

 

The ASUS G73JW-A1 will be run through the standard notebook/netbook test regime here at TweakTown. This includes iTunes Encoding and Media Transcoding plus Battery Eater Pro for battery life estimation. This machine will also be put through our new expanded benchmark regime with the addition of boot time, PCMark Vantage, SuperPi, and Cinebench.

 

All systems are tested "as is", which means operating systems and drivers can and do vary and some come pre-installed with applications that may or may not affect performance. Any anti-virus or security applications are disabled and uninstalled before any testing is started as they can affect test numbers.

 

For the iTunes encoding test I take Stone Temple Pilots - Core CD album in MP3 format and encode it to AAC format using iTunes and time the results with a stopwatch.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_10.png

 

The ASUS G73JW-A1 was third place in this benchmark as you can see, and only two points from second place.

 

For the movie encoding test I take the Microsoft Magic of Flight VC-1 WMV video with six channel audio (1080p HD) and transcode it to XviD (1080p HD) with LAME MP3 two channel audio and a MP4 container using MediaCoder 0.7.3.4616 32-bit edition.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_11.png

 

The ASUS G73JW-A1 took fourth place in this benchmark, beating its near twin; the G73Jh-A1 by six points.

 

Battery Eater Pro

 

Battery Eater Pro is very hard on batteries, so you are likely to get more run time in the real world, depending on how you use the machine. Since we compare all laptops and netbooks the exact same way though, it creates a fair and balanced playing field for our comparisons.

 

For the power saving mode test I run the machine in 'Power Saver' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 50%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 5%.

 

For the performance mode test I run the machine in 'High Performance' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 100%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 100%. Do note that some systems even when set to 100% CPU may force drop down the clock speed when AC power is lost.

 

Wireless is kept enabled during all tests and nothing else unusual is disabled. Time is rounded up to the nearest minute.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_12.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_13.png

 

The ASUS G73JW-A1 was right in the middle of the pack here. Battery life was actually better than I expected considering the machine is gaming focused with higher-end parts inside.

 

Boot Time

 

We measured boot time using a stopwatch and timed from the point we turned the system on until the very first point the desktop was reached and fully loaded.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_20.png

 

This is a new benchmark and as such there are only a few machines to compare with so far. For now, the ASUS G73JW-A1 is dead last in boot time.

 

Power Consumption

 

This is a brand new benchmark starting with this review and moving forward it will be used on all reviews. For now, this is the only score on the chart.

 

The power consumed by the machine under full load using Prime95 and at idle is recorded with a Kill A Watt wall outlet measuring device and rounded to the nearest watt.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_18.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3570_19.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases