TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,835 News Posts

Corsair Air Series A70 High-Performance CPU Cooler - The Corsair Air Series A70 High-Performance CPU Cooler

Corsair unleashes the big brother to the A50 in air cooling. If the A50 is anything to go by, Corsair could well have a real winner on their hands here.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 7, 2010 3:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Corsair Air Series A70 High-Performance CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_08.jpg

 

The A70 keeps the same fin count of forty-five as the A50 had, but this time they are wider and have the four 8mm heatpipes versus the three. The bottom of the aluminium base plate is obviously different to accept the four heatpipes, but the top remains the same to allow use of the same mounting hardware we saw on the A50.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_09.jpg

 

The A70 is a fair bit wider than the A50 from this angle. This wider fin allows for the four heatpipes to be able to be spaced a bit further apart so you don't have a solid clump of them in the middle. The addition of more surface area of the wider fins and the fact that there are now four well spaced pipes in the A70, it should show much better efficiency than the A50 did.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_10.jpg

 

The top fin is black, keeping with the theme of the Air Series coolers. There is the large Corsair name and ship sails logo in the middle of each fin as the A50 had, but there are dimples put into the fins here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_11.jpg

 

Using all the same outer dimensions on the base plate allows for the use of the same hardware. AMD users will again have a latch bar to slide into the grooves, and Intel users get a bolt through mount. The difference in the bases can be found underneath. The space where the pipes travel has been widened 10mm to allow for the redesign.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_12.jpg

 

As with most coolers that make direct contact, there are some deep channels that are going to be found between the copper pipes and the aluminium base plate. When I set a razor across the pipes, they as well as the aluminium spacers made level contact against its edge. The finish isn't perfect here, but there is much less milling marks than I see on most coolers like this.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_13.jpg

 

Along with what I would guesstimate at 30% more fin surface area, Corsair also utilizes dimples in every fin. I lost count twice as I tried to count them, but both times it was right on about 100 dimples per fin. Dimples, increased surface area, two fans, and the leading and trailing edge designs should make the A70 a contender for the top.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_14.jpg

 

The A70 uses the same CF12B25H12A fan, shroud, and rubber mounting combination we saw in the A50. This time there are two of these clip-on shrouds to maximize air flow over all that surface area we get in the A70.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_15.jpg

 

The fans will simply clip into the "v" shaped cuts on the short sides of the fins. I have had some time with these since testing both. While it only takes a little pressure to release them from even a fingernail grabbing under it, they are very solid when locked on, and are well isolated against any vibrations.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_16.jpg

 

Getting the A70 ready to take on the TECC, I added the fans and got a look into the mouth of the beast. The fans are a good choice, and while they don't cover all of the fins, there is very little percentage of that total not being delivered 60 CFM from this end.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3568_17.jpg

 

The A70 sits 42mm off the processor, and for those with tall heat spreaders, once the fan shrouds are added that number increases a bit, you may run into clearance issues. I say we get a look at the hardware and get the A70 strapped up and running.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases