TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,635 News Posts

Scythe Rasetsu (SCRT-1000) CPU Cooler - The Scythe Rasetsu SCRT-1000 CPU Cooler

Scythe takes the Yasya and re-engineers it to bring us the Rasetsu SCRT-1000 CPU cooler. If you're looking for respectable cooling with space constraints in mind, this could be your ticket.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 5, 2010 10:59 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: Scythe

The Scythe Rasetsu SCRT-1000 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_06.jpg

 

Lifting a few flaps on the top of the box, I found the Rasetsu just sitting inside the outer box. In the bottom is a hardware box that the cooler sits on, but aside from that the cooler just sits there freely. As the cooler ships, all you have to do is add thermal paste and the appropriate V.T.M.S. parts, and you are ready to install the Rasetsu.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_07.jpg

 

I removed the 120mm Slip Stream fan. These nine blades are capable of producing some pretty strong air flow, and if the noise level is too high, or you aren't overclocking, the fan control dial gives you finite control over this. The fan is powered with a 4-pin PWM connection, so if you want all the control then you'll need to change the BIOS settings to run the fan full speed all the time, if desired.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_08.jpg

 

With the fan out of the way, I could give you a better look at the Trident Multi Layer Fin Structure. This helps to disturb the airflow while also offsetting the fan enough so that it can get its full production onto the fins without being choked off.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_09.jpg

 

Due to the way the Rasetsu is packaged, during shipping the fan controller had some issue with the top fin of my cooler and had its way with the fins. While this isn't going to hurt performance, but had I paid hard earned money for one, I would be a bit upset.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_10.jpg

 

Scythe really packs in the heat pipes with the Rasetsu. There are six 6mm pipes that take a tight, but gentle bend from the base and run into the middle of the fin arrangement. There they take another bend to slide into their respective set of fins. The three pipes on the left deliver heat to the smaller arrangement, and the three on the right stay with the right side fins. Also notice the cooler is offset. The shorter side will allow for more cooling over the CPU power components and less room impeding into the memory slots.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_11.jpg

 

This side of the cooler is what you should expect to see on both sides of the Rasetsu. The uniquely shaped fins are held over a pre-cooler made of aluminium.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_12.jpg

 

This isn't just the pre-cooler though. With the square holes facing on an angle to the right, you simply insert the correct VTMS part and push it until it "clicks" into the locked position.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_13.jpg

 

The nickel plated, copper base plate is very smooth with an "orange peel" effect left from the plating. This base is very flat across both directions aside from a bit of rounding around the very edge. The base covers any processor it fits with room to spare, so the deviation doesn't come into play.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3563_14.jpg

 

Reassembling the cooler for testing, I took an image from the top so you could see how well this 120mm covers the fins. The fins are a bit longer than the fan; 6mm to be exact, but these 3mm per side are used to lock the fan in place with extended points on the fins.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases