Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,686 Reviews & Articles | 45,704 News Posts

iBUYPOWER LAN Warrior II X58M Custom Gaming PC - Packaging, Internals & Set-Up


By: | Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Oct 4, 2010 4:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 76%Manufacturer: iBUYPOWER

Packaging

 

content/3/5/3561_01.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_02.jpg

 

The LAN Warrior II arrived in a large white box with iBUYPOWER's logo emblazoned on two sides. Opening it up, we see that the system is double-boxed, with a thin layer of foam on top of and below the inner box, which is the reused NXZT chassis box.

 

content/3/5/3561_03.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_05.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_06.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_07.jpg

 

The accessory bag, keyboard, and removable handle occupy the space between the inner and outer boxes.

 

content/3/5/3561_08.jpg

 

Inside the inner box, we find the system cushioned by two foam brackets.

 

content/3/5/3561_09.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_011.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_010.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_014.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_015.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_016.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_023.jpg

 

Internals

 

content/3/5/3561_017.jpg

 

The LAN Warrior II's mesh side panel reveals a block of InstaPak foam inserted to keep the video card nice and snug during shipping. Accessing the system interior requires only removing a pair of thumbscrews from the rear of the chassis, after which the side panel slides off easily. Removing the foam is a bit nerve-wracking, however. It's in there really tight and requires a pretty serious tug to free it; an action that places physical stress on the video card that we'd rather not see.

 

content/3/5/3561_018.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_019.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_020.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_021.jpg

 

content/3/5/3561_022.jpg

 

With the foam removed, we find a build dominated by the enormous video card, which takes up two expansion slots and extends approximately four-fifths of the way across the interior. The card's size essentially splits the interior in half, creating two separate sections.

 

The system has two cooling fans (in addition to the fans on the radiator, power supply and video card) - basically one fan for each of the interior compartments, since the video card impedes any airflow between the two chambers.

 

Accessories

 

The accessory bag contains cables and other odds and ends from the build, as well as the mouse and the following discs; Windows 7 install/repair disc, drivers for the Blu-ray drive and a disc of drivers for the MSI mobo (including Ethernet, HD audio, etc.). We didn't get a driver disc for the GPU, but as frequently as ATI releases new drivers, such a disc would quickly become obsolete anyhow.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down