TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,433 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

iBUYPOWER LAN Warrior II X58M Custom Gaming PC - Packaging, Internals & Set-Up

Today we take a look at the ultra-portable machine from iBUYPOWER equipped with ATI's flagship Radeon HD 5970 GPU - The LAN Warrior II.

| Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Oct 4, 2010 4:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 76%Manufacturer: iBUYPOWER

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_01.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_02.jpg

 

The LAN Warrior II arrived in a large white box with iBUYPOWER's logo emblazoned on two sides. Opening it up, we see that the system is double-boxed, with a thin layer of foam on top of and below the inner box, which is the reused NXZT chassis box.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_03.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_05.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_06.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_07.jpg

 

The accessory bag, keyboard, and removable handle occupy the space between the inner and outer boxes.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_08.jpg

 

Inside the inner box, we find the system cushioned by two foam brackets.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_09.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_011.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_010.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_014.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_015.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_016.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_023.jpg

 

Internals

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_017.jpg

 

The LAN Warrior II's mesh side panel reveals a block of InstaPak foam inserted to keep the video card nice and snug during shipping. Accessing the system interior requires only removing a pair of thumbscrews from the rear of the chassis, after which the side panel slides off easily. Removing the foam is a bit nerve-wracking, however. It's in there really tight and requires a pretty serious tug to free it; an action that places physical stress on the video card that we'd rather not see.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_018.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_019.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_020.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_021.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3561_022.jpg

 

With the foam removed, we find a build dominated by the enormous video card, which takes up two expansion slots and extends approximately four-fifths of the way across the interior. The card's size essentially splits the interior in half, creating two separate sections.

 

The system has two cooling fans (in addition to the fans on the radiator, power supply and video card) - basically one fan for each of the interior compartments, since the video card impedes any airflow between the two chambers.

 

Accessories

 

The accessory bag contains cables and other odds and ends from the build, as well as the mouse and the following discs; Windows 7 install/repair disc, drivers for the Blu-ray drive and a disc of drivers for the MSI mobo (including Ethernet, HD audio, etc.). We didn't get a driver disc for the GPU, but as frequently as ATI releases new drivers, such a disc would quickly become obsolete anyhow.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases