TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,836 News Posts

Antec LanBoy Air Blue Mid Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Antec redefines what makes a case "cool"! - Today it releases to the world the LanBoy Air in blue.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 28, 2010 5:46 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Antec

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_28.jpg

 

Getting everything ready to go, I simply slid the power supply into the rack so we can get it back into the case and get underway.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_29.jpg

 

To install the hard drives you first need to screw the Air Mounts to either side. With the hooks on both ends of the mounts, you simply lock them into the provided brackets in the drive rack assembly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_30.jpg

 

Readying the front of the LanBoy Air, I had to remove one of the drive bay covers and the lower fan assembly to gain better access to mount the hard drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_31.jpg

 

With only one set of holes to mount the optical drive, it leaves it positioned so that the black plastic face of the drive bottoms out against the rail. Once the drive is installed this is what it looks like, as the cover doesn't go back on. If you don't like this look, you can always face the drive to the left or right of this position and leave the drive cover in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_32.jpg

 

Not only can the drive be placed with the wiring facing the fans to hide the wiring, but they can be turned 90° left or right as well as 180° from the way it is now. At this point I also slid the toolbox back into place so I don't lose any of the hardware I may need down the line.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_33.jpg

 

I really didn't think the red Foxconn was going to look so hot in here, so I opted to go with my black m-ATX board instead. All of the wiring got where it needed to be with relative ease. With a simple configuration like I use, I was even able to get the radiator of the Vantage inside the drive bays. With all the wire management and the modularity of the PSU, I only had to tuck a couple of wires under the hard drive. The nice thing is that you can pull the side panel and still not see the wiring mess as the front third of the panel can stay closed. If you have a longer GPU with a bit of careful positioning, it will allow for a card up to 16" in length to be squeezed in between the hard drive rails.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_34.jpg

 

Behind the scenes I was able to tie up the loose ends and easily replace the panels. Wiring is a bit tough inside here because of all the mesh. This makes most of it very visible. With a bit of time and quite a few zip ties, I was able to achieve satisfactory results.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_35.jpg

 

All ready to go, except I don't have the power wire connected. With the industrial styling of the LanBoy Air, the exposed optical drive actually fits with the theme.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_36.jpg

 

Once power is applied the LanBoy comes to life with a brilliant blue glow. The front two fans are speed controllable, but as I turned the dial, I noticed little drop in intensity until I got very close to the slowest speed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3551_37.jpg

 

With all five fans emanating blue light, the entire inside is flooded in it. In the light the color matches the blue of the framework very well. At night you have a nice source for a blue glow in your room.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases