TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,075 Reviews & Articles | 39,019 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

QNAP TS-859U-RP 8-Drive Rackmount NAS - The QNAP TS-859U-RP

QNAP's new enterprise rackmount NAS has the power to keep your business at full flow, yet is simple and quiet enough to stay in your home office.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Sep 27, 2010 11:55 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: QNAP

The QNAP TS-859U-RP

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the 2U TS-859U-RP. The unit is sleek with its flat black finish. I would love to see what a 42U rack filled with these looks like. Better yet, I would love to fill my 42U rack with them!

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_09.jpg

 

The system is quite light and doesn't weigh all that much more than my daily use TS-809 Pro. Both units emit around the same level of acoustic noise as well, so it is possible to use your 859 in your office without earplugs, something that I couldn't say about the Thecus rackmount unit we tested the other day.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_10.jpg

 

Most of the goodies are located on the back of the TS-859U-RP.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_11.jpg

 

Here we see the redundant power supplies that use a fail over system. If one falls the other picks up the slack and you get to keep using the NAS without skipping a beat.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_12.jpg

 

In the middle we see the dual gigabit Ethernet ports, quad USB 2.0 and dual eSATA connectors. If you wanted to get really fancy, you could actually install four thumb drives and two additional HDDs via eSATA and make the TS-859U-RP a storage monster, not that it isn't one already with eight HDDs in the traditional bays.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_13.jpg

 

I was very surprised at the level of quality found inside the unit. Here we see the layout that allows for the components to breathe easily without the need for the fans to spin at crazy RPMs to keep things cool.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_14.jpg

 

If you needed to install more memory, QNAP has made the memory module easily accessible, but be sure to read the list of qualified model numbers before making your purchasing decision.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3547_15.jpg

 

When it comes to the little details that make a good product a great product, QNAP has always been able to deliver. Here we see one of the connectors that has a glue on it to ensure a strong, long lasting connection. All of the connectors inside the TS-859U-RP had this glue and it was not found on any of the Thecus models we have ever tested.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases