TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,920 Reviews & Articles | 38,141 News Posts

Thecus N8800 Pro 8-Drive Rackmount NAS - The Thecus N8800 Pro

Thecus introduces their highest performing NAS to date, can the N8800 Pro smash our benchmark records or will the new firmware hold it back?

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Sep 22, 2010 10:26 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Thecus

The Thecus N8800 Pro

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the N8800 Pro. The front view shows the door closed. In the middle there is a window so you can still see the LCD display.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_09.jpg

 

Here se wee the N8800 Pro with the door open. One thing we noticed is that all of the drives are lockable, but the front door just uses a simple thumb screw system. Some users are going to want a lockable front door so users can't access the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_10.jpg

 

The LCD display sits right in the middle and there are four buttons used to set or change the settings.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_11.jpg

 

The N8800 Series are all rackmount units that come with mounting hardware preinstalled and also rack rails if you want to use them.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_12.jpg

 

The back of the NAS has dual USB 2.0 ports, a COM port and dual gigabit Ethernet. The redundant power supply needs two power wires connected to an outlet, but if one fails the other PSU takes over. Also on the back we see the full size PCIe slot for 10GbE connectivity.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_13.jpg

 

The N8800 Pro is designed for easy access to the internal components. If a fan fails you can quickly go in and make a change right away without the need to have a tech show up. This eliminates down time so you always have access to your data.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_14.jpg

 

Thecus has always delivered on their accessory package. Here we see the two PSU cables needed to get started, an Ethernet cable and the manuals.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3536_15.jpg

 

Some users will want to install the rack slide system that comes with the N8800 to access the back of the NAS faster.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases