TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,055 Reviews & Articles | 38,941 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Antec Notebook Cooler 200 - The Antec Notebook Cooler 200

Reminiscent in design to the Skeleton series of cases, Antec mounts a 200mm Big Boy fan in a sturdy open frame and offers the Notebook Cooler 200.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 17, 2010 4:27 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Antec

The Antec Notebook Cooler 200

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_08.jpg

 

The open construction on the top allows for not only a very attractive cooler, but offers room for both the huge fan in the center, as well as the mirrored corner pieces; it's a shame all this gets covered up!

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_09.jpg

 

Standing the 200 on edge, you get a better idea of the mirrored corners. These help to bounce a bit of the blue LED lighting under the notebook, while definitely bringing flash and style.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_10.jpg

 

Looking at it from the front, the closest edge has the feet of your notebook placed an inch and five-eighths off the table. There is a gentle incline as you pass over the fan to the back, and the feet here sit two and five-eighths inches off the surface. This raises the screen over 2" off the table top, reducing the slouch that comes with laptop use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_11.jpg

 

Both sides are held onto the middle section with really beefy hex head screws. I set this on my desk and really leaned into it, and I will say to be able to take what my 200 pound self could deliver with no flex or deviation, I will tell you it is structurally very sound. Each side has two feet; one in the front and one in the rear of the cooler. Antec arched the center of the sides which makes for a great place to grab the cooler and notebook to another location.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_12.jpg

 

The back of the 200 is very open in design. This allows for an excellent inflow of ambient air to be able to be pulled into the 200mm fan.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_13.jpg

 

Right in the middle of the back of the 200 is where you will find the High and Low switch for the fan on the left, and the Off and On switch for the LED lighting on the right. Just below is where the USB wiring stems and is held into the plastic with a sturdy rubber connection to the plastic body.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_14.jpg

 

Underneath the unit, the fan has a covering of the honeycomb, steel mesh to keep your fingers safe if you were to move the cooler while it is running. There is about 13-14" of USB cable for easy connectivity to any port on any side of the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_15.jpg

 

Curiosity got to me, so I removed the mesh and plastic covers off the bottom with the four screws around the edge of the fan. This nine blade, almost translucent in color, 200mm fan should be plenty capable of showing benefits in cooling. I also like the fact that it only takes four screws to open the fan up for cleaning later.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_16.jpg

 

With my 15" Lenovo on top, it makes my laptop look even smaller; just goes to show you how well a 17" laptop will fit on the 200 as well. With the lights on in the room, the blue LED lighting is hard to see. With the lights off, the clear parts and the mirrored finish show the lighting. There isn't too much that is visible on the table either.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3523_17.jpg

 

With no defined routing for the cable under the 200, it is up to you to devise a way to keep the wire from getting under the fan and making the unit unlevel. I found with a quick tuck through a couple of holes in the structure I was able to keep the cable out from under the fan.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases