TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,921 Reviews & Articles | 38,154 News Posts

Scythe Chouriki 2 1000W Modular Power Supply - Inside the Box

Scythe packs a lot of power into the Chouriki 2 1000W PSU that looks to be great value for someone on a tight budget. Read the full review to find out.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 16, 2010 6:41 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Scythe USA Inc.

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_10.jpg

 

Upon opening the external packaging, we see that Scythe has skimped a bit on the internal packaging. The only protection to the power supply itself is a small amount of bubble wrap and the modular cables. Our sample arrived undamaged, but was packaged in another box with additional protection.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_11.jpg

 

After removing the contents from the box, we can see the 10 modular cables Scythe includes with the Chouriki 2 and the power cable.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_12.jpg

 

The Chouriki 2 itself features a beautiful brushed metal finish in what can only be described as a light bronze finish which is very difficult to capture in a photo. The side of the Chouriki 2 contains the I/O specification sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_13.jpg

 

The front of the Chouriki 2 houses the 10 modular plugs for the various cables. One would hope that since all of the PCI-E connectors are blue and the rest are black that this would indicate how the dual 12V rails are split up, but we'll dig into that when we pop the top off.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_14.jpg

 

The bottom holds Scythe's 135mm Kama Flex fan to cool the 1000W of power our Chouriki 2 offers. Scythe claims that the fan only produces 21. 7dBA at a full load of 1350 RPM.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_15.jpg

 

Moving to the back of the Chouriki 2, we can see the modified honeycomb structure used to permit air to flow out of the power supply. While this is slightly more restrictive than the typical honeycomb design, it does add a bit of aesthetics.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3520_16.jpg

 

Last but not least, we have the installation manual and black mounting screws also included.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases