Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
7,518 Reviews & Articles | 55,352 News Posts

MAINGEAR F131 P55 SLI Custom Gaming PC

By: Tim Roper | Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Sep 15, 2010 6:34 am
Comment () | Email to a Friend | Font Size: AA
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: MAINGEAR

Gaming Performance

 

TweakTown strives to provide our readers with a reasonable expectation of what they can expect in terms of real-world performance in our gaming tests. Instead of testing all systems and titles at, say, 1280x768 with 4xAA and comparing framerates, we determine a particular system's maximum playable settings and report those settings along with the resultant framerates.

 

Even though this makes direct comparison between systems a bit more difficult, we feel it best reflects how the typical gamer uses a system. Most players aren't interested in getting framerates in the 100s at 1280x768 if the title is still playable at 1680x1050.

 


Batman: Arkham Asylum

 

content/3/5/3519_151.jpg

 

Using Arkham Asylum's built-in benchmarking tool (included in Patch 1.1), we achieved maximum playable settings at 1920x1080 with 16xAA and "Very High" performance settings.

 

content/3/5/3519_801.png

 

Frame rates were as follows. 106 max, 35 min, with an average of 68.

 


Far Cry 2

 

content/3/5/3519_152.jpg

 

The F131 destroyed Far Cry 2, even with all the settings maxed out at 1920x1080, 8xAA, and Very High detail level.

 

content/3/5/3519_802.png

 

It averaged 137.49 fps, with a high of 269 and a low of 86.

 


Battlefield: Bad Company 2

 

content/3/5/3519_153.jpg

 

Another title that hardly caused the F131 to break a sweat.

 

content/3/5/3519_803.png

 

At 1920x1080, we pulled in an average of 89 fps, with a maximum of 110 and a minimum of 51.

 


BioShock

 

content/3/5/3519_154.jpg

 

content/3/5/3519_804.png

 

No surprise here. The F131 cranked out an average of 329.5(!), with a max of 515 and min of 223 at 1920x1080 and Very High detail level.

 

For an in-depth review of the capabilities of the NVIDIA GTX 470, see here.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

loading