TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

MAINGEAR F131 P55 SLI Custom Gaming PC - Packaging, Internals and Set-Up

We've gotten our hands on an over-clocked SLI gaming rig. Join us as we put the pedal down on the MAINGEAR F131.

| Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Sep 15, 2010 6:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: MAINGEAR

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_1.jpg

 

[img]2[/img]

 

The F131 arrived in a brown cardboard box with the company's logo on the side. Opening it up, we see that four foam brackets cushion the system.

 

[img]3[/img]

 

Inside, we find the system wrapped in plastic, along with a MAINGEAR t-shirt, a binder and an accessory box.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_4.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_5.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_6.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_8.jpg

 

The F131 comes in a very sharp-looking black chassis from SilverStone known as the Fortress FT01 with an abstract graphic on the side. This is one of the handful of standard graphics MAINGEAR offers at no charge on the F131. You can order the system with no graphic as well, or with a windowed panel. However, the true enthusiast will go for the fourth option-namely, providing your own custom artwork, which MAINGEAR will laser engrave for free on the side panel using a M.A.R.C. Laser Etcher. This is an option that very few builders offer, and MAINGEAR is the only one we're aware of that will at no extra charge.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_9.jpg

 

The tool-less chassis features a recessed, angled pocket on the top that holds two USB ports, FireWire, and mic & headphone jacks, as well as the Reset button. The front of the chassis holds the optical drive and media card reader.

 

On the rear of the chassis, we find P/S2 inputs for mouse and keyboard, 6xUSB 2.0, optical and coaxial S/PDIF outs, eSATA, FireWire, 2xUSB 3.0, Ethernet, multichannel sound outputs and mic input. Both graphics cards have DVI outputs as well as DisplayPort outlets, and MAINGEAR supplies the proper DisplayPort-to-HDMI cables to plug into your home theater or HDMI-equipped monitor.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_7.jpg

 

Internals

 

Removing the side panel requires the loosening of three thumbscrews-two on the rear lip of the panel, and one securing the mechanism that unlocks the top edge of the panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_10.jpg

 

Inside, we find a layout utterly devoid of clutter. Cables are properly secured and tucked out of the way so as not to restrict airflow.

 

The chassis sports seven hard drive bays, two of which are occupied, and five 5.25" bays above them.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_14.jpg

 

A couple of massive 180mm fans positioned on the lower front of the chassis and on top draw in cool air, which is then expelled through the rear near the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_11.jpg

 

CARDKEEPERS hold both GTX 470s securely in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_12.jpg

 

A "maintenance-free" Asetek X120 liquid cooler keeps the processor in its thermal comfort zone.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_13.jpg

 

A 1KW SilverStone Strider power supply keeps the electrons moving.

 

Documentation & Accessories

 

MAINGEAR includes a binder containing manuals for the system's various components, optical media, system and warranty info, recovery instructions, and a customer feedback form.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_17.jpg

 

Note that MAINGEAR includes both a Windows 7 disc, as well as a recovery disc/driver disc combo, which allows you to restore or repair your machine with two different methods, depending on your situation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_18.jpg

 

We also got a copy of Napoleon: Total War included with the F131, although titles are subject to change.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3519_20.jpg

 

In the accessory box, we received the aforementioned DisplayPort-to-HDMI cables along with some other odds and ends. But MAINGEAR also threw in a very cool little screwdriver pocket set with both Phillips and flat heads.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below