TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,098 Reviews & Articles | 39,133 News Posts

A-DATA S599 128GB Solid State Drive - The Packaging and S599 128GB SSD

A-DATA updates their flagship 500 Series; bringing new firmware features, accessories and capacity.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 9, 2010 8:35 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: A-DATA

The Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_03.jpg

 

For the most part the S599 packaging hasn't changed from the first time we took a look at a drive from this series.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_04.jpg

 

On the back of the package A-DATA has listed some general information about the series and some of the features.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_05.jpg

 

Here we see one of the major changes to the S599, the new desktop adapter bracket. Desktop users will take comfort in being able to install their new SSD with little hassle now that A-DATA has included this special add on.

 

The A-DATA S599 128GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_06.jpg

 

The external looks of the S599 are the same as the previous generation we tested back in March. The outside casing is still the same two piece aluminum as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_07.jpg

 

The back of the case has the four mounting locations needed for most new style adapter brackets.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_08.jpg

 

On the side of the drive we also see the traditional mounting locations as well as the serial number of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_09.jpg

 

The data and power SATA connections are located where they should be and the desktop adapter also keeps the drive in line with native 3.5" drives. This is important if you use a drive sled in your computer or device.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_10.jpg

 

When it comes to the internals we found the standard SandForce setup with the SF-1222 controller and sixteen Intel flash modules.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3505_11.jpg

 

The back of the drive holds the other eight flash modules.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases