TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,678 Reviews & Articles | 36,089 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Zotac ZBOX HD-ID11-U Next-Generation ION Nettop - Packaging, Internals and Set-Up

Today we assemble and test the Zotac ZBOX not-quite-a-barebones mini-PC and see how it performs and how it works.

| SFF PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Sep 6, 2010 10:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%      Manufacturer: Zotac USA

Packaging

 

The ZBOX comes in a modestly sized box with a convenient carrying handle. The front sports an angled shot of the machine, and the back lists detailed system specs and images of the ports and other features.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_01.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_02.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_03.jpg

 

Inside, we find the package's austere contents: the ZBOX (already loaded into a mounting bracket), a laptop-style power supply, stand, DVI-to-VGA adapter, mounting screws, a driver disc and thin manual.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_04.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_05.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_06.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_07.jpg

 

The front panel houses one USB port, memory card reader, headphone jack, mic jack, two status lights, and the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_08.jpg

 

The top panel has another single USB port, along with the exhaust vent for the CPU cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_09.jpg

 

The rear of the machine boasts the lion's share of the machine's I/O. We get 1xeSATA, 4xUSB, Ethernet, DVI out, HDMI out, and an optical S/PDIF out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_010.jpg

 

And here is the mounting bracket on its own.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_011.jpg

 

The bottom of the chassis, revealing the air intake vent.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_012.jpg

 

The bottom edge of the chassis with keyhole slot for the included stand.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_013.jpg

 


Internals

 

Removing the side panel only requires loosening two thumbscrews.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_014.jpg

 

Here we see the clean and not-too-cramped internals of the ZBOX.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_015.jpg

 

We'll be finishing out the system with a 640GB HDD provided by our friends at Seagate and a 4GB RAM module from our friends at Crucial.

 

We'll install the 64-bit version of Windows 7 Enterprise as our OS.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_016.jpg

 

This is where the HDD goes, obviously.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_019.jpg

 

Remove one screw, flip this tab back, and insert the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_020.jpg

 

It will only fit one way, so we had a hard time screwing it up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_021.jpg

 

Close the tab and replace the screw, and the ZBOX holds its new HDD snuggly in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_022.jpg

 

RAM goes here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_023.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3497_024.jpg

 

Again, fairly idiot-proof, although the manual is unfortunately silent about which specific types of RAM the ZBOX supports. We originally tried it with a stick of 533MHz RAM that we had laying around, which we soon realized wasn't supported. The box and the product sheet mention 800MHz RAM, though we found that 677MHz would also do the trick.

 

Once we were up and running, installing the OS was as simple as connecting an external USB-powered DVD drive and inserting the installation disc.

 

Once the OS install completed, we swapped the disc for the driver disc supplied with the ZBOX. The driver installer gives the option of installing all the drivers at once or one at a time. We went with the "all at once" option, which worked for almost all the drivers. The graphics driver failed to install, and we ended up just downloading that one from Zotac's website, which conveniently provides links to all the necessary drivers. It's probably not a bad idea to go this route for all the drivers, since the ones on the disc might not be the most recent.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below