TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,059 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

BitFenix Colossus Full Tower Chassis - The BitFenix Colossus Full Tower Case

TweakTown got front row seats to the fight of the year. Get a beverage and some popcorn and prepare for BitFenix's knockout blow to the competition.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 31, 2010 3:52 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: BitFenix

The BitFenix Colossus Full Tower Case"

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_07.jpg

 

The Front of the Colossus is covered with SofTouch; BitFenix's own creation. This not only gives the case a flat finish, but allows for easier cleaning and the lack of finger prints. At the top marks the logo and in the five bands there is an opaque plastic that allows for the LED lighting to take effect later.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_08.jpg

 

The top of the Colossus looks unassuming. For the most part all you see is the mesh covering the 230mm fan underneath.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_09.jpg

 

Swing the door panel open and along with the five vented drive covers and the large vented area to the bottom for the other 230mm fan, you can see a lock in the center of the chassis front bezel. This allows you to lock the storage tray or unlock it while you are at your computer. My Colossus was shipped with it in the unlocked position. For those saying that the door doesn't swing in the right direction, it can be reversed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_10.jpg

 

Just lift the cover from the front of the chassis and it exposes the front I/O and storage area. Under the lids hinges you will find the two USB 3.0 connections. In my sample the cover is plastic. I was told that the retail version will have a metal lid for added security.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_11.jpg

 

Looking from a different angle I can cover the rest of the included components. On the left there are actually four buttons and one fan knob, but the angle cut off the last button. From top to bottom there's the reset, power, fan speed, red (or off) coloring, and the button you can't see activates the pulse feature. In the tray are the audio and USB 2.0 connections, and in the wall nearest there is an e-SATA port as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_12.jpg

 

Skipping ahead to continue with the features of this area, I grabbed a white USB cable for a camera I own. This shows how the inner locks will hold the wiring in place, and you can route it cleanly under the door so it will close. This in conjunction with locking the storage area will keep all your devices safe at a LAN. For day to day use it simplifies and cleanly holds your devices like headphones in place in case you accidentally try going farther than the cord allows. We've all done that at least once, and this way the jack stays out of harm, too. I also turned the lock to show how it latches to the cover.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_13.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit, you can see that the external wire management goes all the way to the table top. Even for cables for charging your phone, or in my case, one to download images, it keeps them close to the PC on the table without all the extra wire to get in the way. As I mentioned before, the door is reversible. In this process I realized that the door is held shut with a magnetic closure. So the door should have a solid "clunk" when it closes and not want to swing open if the case sits unlevel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_14.jpg

 

The side panels have a bit more sheen to them than does the front or top, but the textured finish will hide a lot of prints and smudges for you. The five, zigzag stripes of white in the panel are backlit with blue and red lights.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_15.jpg

 

The back of the Colossus starts with four holes for water cooling and to be able to get the USB 3.0 wiring to the rear I/O of the motherboard. Then there is the area for the rear I/O plate next to a hole designed for 140mm fans. You can mount a 120mm fan as well, but in my sample there are no actual provided holes for the 120mm fan. Moving down we run into the eight, ventilated expansion slots and the bottom mounted power supply hole. The bit you see at the bottom; that is a removable filter that easily slides out the back for cleaning.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_16.jpg

 

I was already sold on lighting on the front and the side I would see all the time, but BitFenix wasn't happy and went all out. They made sure that on the right or the left, or even in the center of a wall on a desk, the Colossus will surely be visually pleasant to look at with all the creative lighting.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3493_17.jpg

 

The Colossus sits on four, large, plastic feet with rubber pads to keep surfaces safe and the PC from sliding. There is an area in the floor that will allow for an optional 120 or 140mm fan to be installed in front of the PSU. Speaking of which, furthest right, there is the vent for the PSU and the dust filter leaning on the chassis.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases