TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,584 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

ASUS Eee 1215N 12.1-inch Netbook - Performance - A/V Encoding, Battery Life and Boot Time

ASUS puts the shiny new Eee 1215N netbook in our hands with Ion graphics and Optimus tech. How good is it? Read on to find out.

| Netbooks (EOL) in Laptops | Posted: Aug 31, 2010 9:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ASUS

Below is the CPU-Z screen shot so you can see what ASUS is working with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3492_17.png

 

A/V Encoding and Battery Life

 

The ASUS Eee 1215N will be run through the standard notebook/netbook test regime here at TweakTown. This includes iTunes Encoding and Media Transcoding plus Battery Eater Pro for battery life estimation. This machine will also be put through our new expanded benchmark regime with the addition of boot time, PCMark Vantage, SuperPi, and Cinebench.

 

All systems are tested "as is", which means operating systems and drivers can and do vary and some come pre-installed with applications that may or may not affect performance. Any anti-virus or security applications are disabled and uninstalled before any testing is started as they can affect test numbers.

 

For the iTunes encoding test I take Stone Temple Pilots - Core CD album in MP3 format and encode it to AAC format using iTunes and time the results with a stopwatch.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3492_7.png

 

The ASUS Eee 1215N was dead last in this benchmark with a time to encode the album that was more than twice as long as the next slowest machine.

 

For the movie encoding test I take the Microsoft Magic of Flight VC-1 WMV video with six channel audio (1080p HD) and transcode it to XviD (1080p HD) with LAME MP3 two channel audio and a MP4 container using MediaCoder 0.7.3.4616 32-bit edition.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3492_8.png

 

The ASUS Eee 1215N was last in the movie encoding benchmark with a time over 300 seconds longer than the eCafe netbook I reviewed before.

 

Battery Eater Pro is very hard on batteries, so you are likely to get more run time in the real world, depending on how you use the machine. Since we compare all laptops and netbooks the exact same way though, it creates a fair and balanced playing field for our comparisons.

 

For the power saving mode test I run the machine in 'Power Saver' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 50%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 5%.

 

For the performance mode test I run the machine in 'High Performance' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 100%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 100%. Do note that some systems even when set to 100% CPU may force drop down the clock speed when AC power is lost.

 

Wireless is kept enabled during all tests and nothing else unusual is disabled. Time is rounded up to the nearest minute.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3492_9.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3492_10.png

 

The ASUS Eee 1215N took a beating at the hands of the competition in the iTunes and movie encoding benchmarks, but it paid those other machines back in spades in the battery life benchmark, taking second place a mere two minutes behind the ViewBook Pro on a single battery in performance mode and beating the next place machine with almost twice the runtime.

 

Boot Time Testing

 

We measured using a stopwatch and timed from the point we turned the system on until the very first point the desktop was reached and fully loaded.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3492_15.png

 

This is a new benchmark we'll be including hereon in all notebook and AIO desktop reviews. As you can see, the machine booted surprisingly quickly.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases