Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,682 Reviews & Articles | 45,675 News Posts
We are looking for a US-based news reporter, join our awesome team!

Corsair Hydro Series H70 CPU Cooler - The Corsair Hydro Series H70 CPU Cooler


By: | CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 31, 2010 6:37 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Corsair Hydro Series H70 CPU Cooler

 

content/3/4/3491_09.jpg

 

Pulling the cooler out of the packaging, you can see the thicker radiator is very obvious. What isn't so much is that the head unit underwent a diet since we saw it on the H50.

 

content/3/4/3491_11.jpg

 

From this angle you can tell what I mean about the diet. The unit is shorter than the H50, but I'm pleased to see new tubing connectivity on the head unit as well. The old style of them only going straight up limited some installations.

 

content/3/4/3491_12.jpg

 

With use of 90° swivel fittings on the side this time, the H70 version allows for almost any angle to be achieved. This will lower the space needed to mount the unit, and look cleaner when it is installed.

 

content/3/4/3491_13.jpg

 

Once the coolant is heated, the pump pushes it through ¼" tubing into the 48mm thick radiator. It then goes through the radiator and with the dual fan configuration, gets rid of the heat here.

 

content/3/4/3491_14.jpg

 

At first glance I wasn't so sure that the tubing was installed correctly. Even though it doesn't cover all of the exposed metal, I pulled on it with all I could give it, and they stayed right where they started. So there are no worries of leaks if yours arrives like this as well.

 

content/3/4/3491_15.jpg

 

Removing the plastic safety cap on the head unit allows us to see that Corsair applies a liberal amount of TIM to the base plate. There is plenty of area covering this base to more than cover even the largest IHS.

 

content/3/4/3491_16.jpg

 

Since we use the same TIM on all the coolers we test, I had to remove the pre-applied TIM. This gives us a great chance to look at the surface of the base plate. Against a razor, the majority of the base is level, but at the edges it does tend to round off a bit. Aside from that, the overall finish could use a bit of love, but I have seen worse.

 

content/3/4/3491_17.jpg

 

Corsair sends these black fans to be installed on the H70. They are both 3-pin powered and can attain 61 CFM at 2000 RPM. Now, with the head unit going in the CPU header, it's nice that Corsair includes the "Y" adapter so you can easily power both fans off one other header on the motherboard.

 

content/3/4/3491_18.jpg

 

Here we have the H70 with one fan installed. Mind you, I have the fan oriented better for our testing. In a case install this fan should be facing the other way, or pulling air in.

 

content/3/4/3491_19.jpg

 

Here is what the 98mm deep sandwich looks like with both fans on the radiator. Again, I want to say that these fans should orient the other way so they draw outside air into the radiator, not blow it outside the case as I have it.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down