TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,583 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

ASUS P6X58D-E (Intel X58 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

Heading back into the world of the X58 chipset, we look at one of the top end mainstream boards from ASUS.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 30, 2010 4:54 pm
TweakTown Rating: 86%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

As with all ASUS products, the P6X58D-E uses an AMI BIOS layout with a few ASUS special features. If you are looking to tweak your CPU and memory then the place you want to head first is to the AITweaker Pages.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_14.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_16.jpg

 

As you can see, with the Intel X58 and 1366 CPUs there are a larger array of voltage and CPU options. Thankfully they are almost all located on this page.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_17.jpg

 

The RAM timing options also seem to be a little more detailed than what we have found on this level (upper end of the mainstream market) of motherboards for AMD.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_18.jpg

 

The P6X58D-E also has the usual Advanced menu which includes items for adjusting advanced properties of the CPU, onboard devices, USB and a few other items.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_19.jpg

 

In the power area we find the Q-Fan controls. We have talked about these before, but it is worth talking about them again here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_20.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_22.jpg

 

As you can see, the Q-Fan controls allow a few options for both the CPU and Chassis fans. You get an extra option with the CPU fan, though; manual control.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_21.jpg

 

With manual control ASUS gives you some impressive options for your CPU fan. Now, this only work if you are using a single fan cooler, so our Hyper 212+ that we used to use would have problems with this single header option.

 


Overclocking

 

As you would expect, the P6X58D-E overclocks pretty well. You can still tell that it is not meant for extreme overclocking, though. There are warnings all over the place when you push outside normal tolerances. It was very odd to see a voltage of 1.4 turn red in the BIOS, indicating a dangerous voltage. This is a fairly regular voltage used when overclocking. In fact, to get our stable overclock we ended up pushing to 1.435V without any problems, but we typically use high-end cooling. Our final OC ended up being 172 x 25 for a nice 4.3GHz clock.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_23.png

 

You can see the validation for the ASUS P6X58D-E here.

 


TurboV EVO

 

The TurboV software on the P6X58D-E is rather light weight. We were expecting the usual compliment of features including an Auto Tuning option, but this was not available.
Still, for what it is worth, the TurboV software that was present on the P6X58 was still very functional.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_24.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3490_25.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases