TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,097 Reviews & Articles | 39,130 News Posts

SilenX iXtrema EFFIZIO EFZ-120HA4 Extreme Silent CPU Cooler - The SilenX iXtrema EFFIZIO EFZ-120HA4 Extreme Silent CPU Cooler

SilenX's iXtrema EFFIZIO EFZ-120HA4 Extreme Silent CPU Cooler is quite a mouthful. Let's see if it's a name to remember!

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 30, 2010 8:55 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: SilenX

The SilenX iXtrema EFFIZIO EFZ-120HA4 Extreme Silent CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_08.jpg

 

Looking at the inbound side of the SilenX, we can see the stack of forty-six fins that are press fit over the five "U" shaped heat pipes. When the heat pipes leave the base they are bent to line up in a chevron pattern at the top and through the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_09.jpg

 

Getting a bit closer, we can discuss the aluminium pre-cooler that tops the base. The base not only offers heat a quick escape, but it also holds the five 8mm heat pipes to the processor. With the universal plate that is already mounted to the base, the EFZ-120HA4 is all ready to go with any supported processor.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_10.jpg

 

From the side we can see that SilenX kept the sides of this cooler closed to more efficiently use all of the air provided by the fan. This feature seems only obvious, as a lot of coolers I test allow quite a bit of the air flow to escape.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_11.jpg

 

From this angle we can see where the EFZ-120HA4 differs from the HP-1216. The shape of the fins is the most notable change. While it is a subtle difference, from what I saw, this edge pattern is superior to that of the HP-1216. SilenX did keep the dimpled texture on the fins, which disturbs the air and allows for better heat transfer over a flat fin.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_12.jpg

 

As with most heat pipe coolers that make direct contact to a processor, the SilenX has small gaps along each pipe. These will tend to "absorb" more TIM than a cooler with a flat bottom, so keep that in mind. The rest of the base is milled together and left very level.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_13.jpg

 

The included fan has nine white blades with a black frame. This fan is listed to run from 800-2000 RPM and can push up to 102 CFM at maximum speed. All of this is accomplished while virtually you will hear very little and SilenX's rating of less than 18dBA isn't too far off.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_14.jpg

 

A little bit of a close up of the fans sticker to show all the ratings SilenX has for the EFZ12025-HSF.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_15.jpg

 

With one fan installed, this is how it will look. Inside, SilenX ships the cooler with enough fan mounts to be able to achieve a push/pull configuration, if you buy another fan.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_16.jpg

 

Here is an option for the EFZ-120HA4, and that is the IXP-74-09 fan. Now, this fan does boast a much lower noise level, but with that comes a drop of CFM from 102 of the included fan to the 38 CFM this one can ultimately put out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3489_17.jpg

 

A close up of this fans specifications is due as well.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases