TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 (AMD 890FX Chipset) Motherboard - The Motherboard

Shifting gears from ITX sized motherboards, we head back to an AMD 890FX board from ASUS with all the bells and whistles.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 27, 2010 4:41 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: ASUS

The Board

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_01.jpg

 

The ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 is an ATX design, but has some interesting departures from the more traditional layout. These departures could mean some extra performance, or they could end up being an albatross around the M4A89TD's neck. For now, let's take a walk around the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_05.jpg

 

The upper half of the M4A89TD is where we find some of the most obvious changes in design philosophy. ASUS has moved the RAM slots over towards the right hand edge of the board along with the CPU socket. This has allowed them to place all the power regulation hardware in a neat line parallel to the I/O ports. ASUS has also placed the 890FX NB at the bottom of this line. All of this is covered by the same heatsink instead of breaking things off and connecting them by a heatpipe.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_06.jpg

 

Taking a closer look, we find an old ASUS favourite; the MemOK! button. This button can help you adjust your RAM during POST to ensure your settings are going to work.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_11.jpg

 

At the top of the RAM slots we find a pair of switches. These control the Core Unlocker and the Turbo Key II functions on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_07.jpg

 

Here we have a better shot of the linear power regulation setup with the 890FX at the bottom. The 4-pin Aux 12V power connector is a little awkward here, but as no one else is putting these in a better place, we will not fault ASUS for this.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_08.jpg

 

The lower half of the M4A89TD shows off its positioning in the upper end of the mainstream market. With only two x16 slots on the board, you are not getting more than Crossfire. You also have a single x1 and x4 slot for audio or TV tuners. Beneath the PCIe slots are two PCI 2.0 slots for all of your legacy devices.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_09.jpg

 

On the other side of the M4A89TD we find another interesting departure. ASUS has split the six SATA 3.0 ports into offset groups (three each). This helps with getting the cables in and out of the ports. The PATA port is still at a 90 degree angle, but as the included cable is wide and flat, this angle can help with air flow in the long run.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3483_10.jpg

 

The I/O ports are fairly typical, although we were surprised to see a PS/2 port for both mouse and keyboard. Many motherboards are switching over to all USB or only leaving a single dual purpose PS/2 port.

 

So now the question we have to ask is, will these design departures be a benefit, or will they create an issue as ASUS has to extend the signal traces in unusual patterns? We are going to find out in a few, that is for sure.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases