TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,225 News Posts

ASUS AT3IONT-I Deluxe (NVIDIA ION) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

We have finished playing around with Intel's Atom on its own chipset. Now we see how it does when paired with NVIDIA's ION alternative.

| NVIDIA Chipset in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 25, 2010 6:38 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

As this is an ASUS motherboard, you know there are going to be options for tinkering with performance. I expected a few items; maybe some RAM tweaks and a GPU clock, but I was not expecting a fairly full JumperFree Configuration page.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_17.jpg

 

Looking at the Advanced CPU settings page, we find some of the more common settings that you would find on more advanced desktop systems. You are missing things like Virtualization and C-States, but as the CPU embedded onto the board does not support these things, there is no reason to have this in the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_18.jpg

 

In the JumperFree Configuration page we find that ASUS has made sure there are some overclocking options for you. They are not the typical ones that you would find in their higher-end boards, but they are still there.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_16.jpg

 

To overclock the Atom all you have to do is find the speed you want and hit Enter. We had fun tying this out and found that as long as you leave things set to auto, you can get some rather good clocks from this board and CPU combo.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_19.jpg

 

To make sure you have enough memory available for graphics, you can set this in the MCP7A chipset configuration page. .

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_20.jpg

 

There are more options available to you in other areas of the BIOS, including ASUS' Q-Fan settings. If you hook up a few fans to the AT3IONT-I then you can also set up profiles to control the operation of the fans.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_21.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_22.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_22.jpg

 

Overclocking

 

As we mentioned above, we found that the AT3IONT-I Deluxe has overclocking options. These allow you to set a final clock speed for the CPU very easily. We cranked it up to its maximum of 2.1 GHz to see what we could get. The board did allow us to post and get into Windows, but it failed during our first test. We backed the clock down by 100MHz and tried again. It turned out that 2 GHz was the sweet spot; the board took care of the voltages needed and we pushed forward from there.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3479_16.jpg

 

You can see the validation for the Atom 330 on the AT3IONT-I here.

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases