TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS G73JH-A1 17.3-Inch Gaming Notebook - Performance

The ASUS G73JH-A1 may look like an F-117 stealth fighter, but will the gaming notebook's performance fly under the radar?

| Gaming Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Aug 16, 2010 2:32 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ASUS

Below you get a look at the main screen CPU-Z screenshot to give you a look at the actual specifications of the unit that we will be testing further on below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3458_7.png

 

The ASUS G73JH-A1 will be run through the standard notebook/netbook test regime here at TweakTown. This includes iTunes Encoding and Media Transcoding plus Battery Eater Pro for battery life estimation. This machine will also be tested with 3DMark Vantage.

 

All systems are tested "as is", which means operating systems and drivers can and do vary and some come pre-installed with applications that may or may not affect performance. Any anti-virus or security applications are disabled and uninstalled before any testing is started as they can affect test numbers.

 

For the iTunes encoding test I take Stone Temple Pilots - Core CD album in MP3 format and encode it to AAC format using iTunes and time the results with a stopwatch.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3458_9.png

 

The ASUS G73JH-A1 took fourth place in this benchmark; it was only a single second from the top three. The notebook is very well suited to media conversion.

 

For the movie encoding test, I take the Microsoft Magic of Flight VC-1 WMV video with six channel audio (1080p HD) and transcode it to XviD (1080p HD) with LAME MP3 two channel audio and a MP4 container using MediaCoder 0.7.3.4616 32-bit edition.

 

All tests are performed with the system in High Performance mode with minimum CPU set to 100%.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3458_10.png

 

The ASUS G73JH-A1 took fourth place on my notebook chart in movie encoding performance with a solid performance overall. It bumped the MSI GX740 I reviewed last month to fifth place. The ASUS G73JH-A1 was well behind the third place machine in this test.

 

Since the ASUS G73JH-A1 is a gaming notebook, I will be running 3DMark Vantage. This test was run on default performance presets.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3458_8.png

 

The ASUS G73JH-A1 took second place, but was well behind the first place Smooth Creations 18.4 Notebook.

 

Battery Eater Pro is very hard on batteries, so you are likely to get more run time in the real world depending on how you use the machine. Since we compare all laptops and netbooks the exact same way, it creates a fair and balanced playing field for our comparisons.

 

For the power saving mode test I run the machine in 'Power Saver' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 50%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 5%.

 

For the performance mode test I run the machine in 'High Performance' mode with turn off display disabled and brightness set to 100%, sleep mode disabled, HDD turn off disabled and minimum CPU set to 100%. Do note that in some systems, even when set to 100%, the CPU may force the clock speed to drop when AC power is lost.

 

Wireless is kept enabled during all tests and nothing else unusual is disabled. Time is rounded up to the nearest minute.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3458_11.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3458_12.png

 

The ASUS G73JH-A1 wasn't expected to tear up the benchmark in battery life since it is a power swilling gaming notebook. The machine was mid-pack to lower mid-pack in my battery tests, which are skewed a bit with netbooks. The ASUS G73JH-A1 performed well when viewed against the other gaming notebooks I have tested.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases