TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,076 Reviews & Articles | 39,020 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Antec Notebook Cooler Designer - Packaging and Notebook Cooler Designer up close

Expanding our horizons in bringing more coolers to TweakTown's readers, today sees the first of TweakTown's laptop cooling pads from Antec.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 11, 2010 3:24 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Antec

The Package

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_02.jpg

 

The designer sits front and center of the all white packaging with the familiar yellow racing stripe. At the bottom, there is a rendering denoting the use of up to 15" notebooks and an image of the designer in use on someone's lap.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_03.jpg

 

On the back of the packaging there is a flow chart for the Designer, a shot of the underside, and an image denoting the ergonomic positioning. In four various languages, Antec adds feature lists to the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_04.jpg

 

There isn't any separate hardware to find when you open the box. Just plug in the USB connector and put it on a table or on your lap for use. Pretty simple!

 

The Antec Notebook Cooler Designer

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_05.jpg

 

The top of the almost "X" shaped Designer is made of plastic and is an almost gun metal silver color. In the middle there is a ventilated area backed by the 110mm blower fan. The rubber feet on your notebook will stick to this surface and keep it in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_06.jpg

 

From the side, the Designer starts very slim at the front. It rises as it moves over the fan and to the back, ending in 1.7" of height. This will allow for better hand position on the keys, and also raise the screen just a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_07.jpg

 

The exhaust vent is placed under where the screen will sit. The edges of the black bottom half are rounded to feel a bit better on your legs, while the top stays flat to fully support your notebook.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_08.jpg

 

Underneath the Designer there are four rubber feet that keeps it from slipping off any flat surface. You will also notice various trails for the USB connection and the wire. This will allow the wire to be locked into place while offering a way to get the connection cleanly to any side of the Designer.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_09.jpg

 

This is where I grabbed my Lenovo 15" Ideapad and set it on top of the Designer. With the front of the Designer being very low profile, there isn't much to visually see of it from the front.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_10.jpg

 

Looking at the Lenovo from the side, you can see how the angle of the Designer elevates the screen about 2". This not only offers a better ergonomic position for your hands, but by raising the screen it may make you want to stop slouching in your chair. To power the unit, I just picked the appropriate trail and plugged the connector into a spare USB port.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3447_11.jpg

 

With my 15" Lenovo it almost makes the Designer look undersized, but the Designer is just big enough. I will get into this a bit more in the conclusion, but the Designer is just big enough to do exactly what it is designed to do.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases