TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,639 News Posts

Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 120GB Solid State Drive - The Mushkin Enhanced Callisto Deluxe 120GB SSD

Chris can spot a hot deal on an SSD from a mile away. This week Mushkin takes top honors with a Deluxe drive that features extended capacity and high IOPS programming.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Aug 6, 2010 2:51 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Mushkin

The Mushkin Enhanced Callisto Deluxe 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_06.jpg

 

The Callisto drive itself looks a lot like the packaging. There isn't much of anything going on with the top cover.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_07.jpg

 

The back cover has all of the information that we expected to find. Here you will find the actual model number and serial number. I found it interesting that Mushkin also included the firmware revision for the drive as it shipped.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_08.jpg

 

The Callisto Deluxe has all of the standard mounting locations that make installing the drive very easy in your notebook or 2.5" drive adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_09.jpg

 

Things aren't so well thought out when we get to the rear of the total package. The SATA power and data connectors are where they should be on the actual drive but the adapter leaves everything out of place. If you ever wonder why we even take this little stroll around each sample hard drive we test this is why. The first time I can recall an issue like this was with the first 2.5" Western Digital VelociRaptor and it caused a few headaches for users looking to install the 2.5" drive that also included a drive adapter.

 

If you take a look at any regular 3.5" HDD you will see that the SATA power and data connectors are offset to the side of the drive and not in the middle. This is because there is a standard for these things and if you want to install the Mushkin Callisto into a NAS, external enclosure or anything that requires the drive to be within spec for spacing you may run into an issue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_10.jpg

 

Looking at the inside of the drive we found the PCB that I've been calling the 2+2. Nearly everything is standard here with an SF-1222TA3 controller and sixteen Intel flash modules.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_11.jpg

 

The back of the drive is also fairly standard, but we did notice something when installing the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3438_12.jpg

 

When installing the Mushkin Callisto Deluxe the SATA power and data connector felt very loose and at one point I started to fear I had broken the drive. After testing I took the drive apart to see why the connector had a bit of a wiggle. Here we see why; the connector isn't held in place with glue to the PCB.

 

It is basically held in place with the solder. If you move the drive around from one system to another often enough, this could eventually cause an issue with if you break a solder point. If you fear this happening just put a very, very small drop of glue at each of the ends to keep the connector secure and butted up against the PCB.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases