TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

NZXT Phantom Enthusiast Full Tower Case - Inside the NZXT Phantom Enthusiast Full Tower Case

NZXT has a new number on the cards in terms of a full featured, full tower chassis that aims to please a large crowd with its not so full on price tag. Make way for the Phantom as we check it out in detail today.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 4, 2010 2:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: NZXT

Inside the NZXT Phantom Enthusiast Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_16.jpg

 

To look inside the panels have to be removed. The 120mm fans at the bottom come with the wires tied together to keep them tidy. Looking at the larger mesh section, you can see there are mounting holes for a 200mm fan as well as holes for even a 230mm fan to be installed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_17.jpg

 

Inside the Phantom there is a lot to absorb. For now let's just cover the points that the hardware is tied into the optical drives and under one of the hard drive trays you can find the instructions.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_18.jpg

 

In the front half we get tool-less clips to mount our 5.25" devices and in a combination of two racks, there is room for up to seven 3.5" drives and NZXT added venting under them to aid in cooling. To the left of the drive bays, NZXT includes two sets or holes for wire management. If an E-ATX board is installed it will cover the left holes, whereas if you install an ATX board both sets can be used. All around the management holes you can see punched attaching points. This will allow wires to be held tight in almost any configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_19.jpg

 

The rest of the motherboard tray is pretty solid and does have letters to designate what risers to install. Two large holes are what I need to address: one is to get access to CPU back plates while the other by the is to hide those wires. Up top, this Phantom comes with only one 200mm fan but it does have blue LEDs. The rear has a 120mm mounted to get the heat outside as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_20.jpg

 

The included fans come all pre-wired and cleanly wired out of the box. The additional wires from the front I/O and power section are all black and wired to the bottom of the case for you. There is ample room here for even the thickest of wires. Places like the smaller hard drive rack and next to the main rack offer more room to hide extra wires if you don't have a modular PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_21.jpg

 

The bottom of the Phantom supports the case with side rails instead of feet. These do give the Phantom a solid foothold on the desktop or floor. Under the PSU, NZXT added a plastic dust cover. With a bit of flexing, the filter pulls right out of the corner holding points.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_22.jpg

 

Because all of the wiring is contained in the top, the front bezel comes off uninhibited when prepping the chassis for installation of the optical drive. There is not a front intake fan included here, but there is the option to install either a 120mm or 140mm fan. The controller up top has extra connections to power this fan and the two in the door as long as they use 3-pin connections.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3435_23.jpg

 

I'm really glad NZXT didn't cut corners on the wiring and took the extra step to make sure everything was black. Noting bothers me more than a rainbow or wire colors strewn about inside an all black chassis. Included in the wiring is a 4-pin Molex to power the fan controller, e-SATA, USB 2.0, and AC'97 or HD Audio connections. There are the three extra fan headers for the door and front fans, power, reset, HDD activity and power LED wires to finish it off.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below