TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,074 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE H55N-USB3 (Intel H55 Express) Mini-ITX Motherboard - The Motherboard

Want to drop some power in your pocket? Well, GIGABYTE has an interesting board for you to consider. The Mini-ITX H55N-USB3 is small, yet powerful.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 28, 2010 7:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

The Board

 

This will be one of the shortest walk-arounds we have done. The board is simply tiny; on its longest side it is only 6.5 Inches. The designers had to stuff all of the workings of an H55 Motherboard (VRMs, Chokes, and Caps etc) onto this tiny little piece of real estate.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_01.jpg

 

Looking at the board we are quickly reminded that it is not a traditional layout. For starters the SATA ports are the top of the board with the front panel header. The CPU and the chipset seem to have been flip-flopped.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_05.jpg

 

This flip-flop has placed the CPU very close to the single PCIe slot on the board. This negates the use of many oversized heatsinks. But there is more to the CPU placement issue than we see on the surface. We took a look at the underside of the board and found that there are components VERY close to the mounting holes. This is due to the very small size of the board (these are needed components that have to go somewhere). Their placement means that many coolers will simply not work. Our normal Cooler Master Hyper 212+ would not work at all. We had to count on a Thermalright 1156 cooler but even that extended out over the PCIe slot.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_06.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_11.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_12.jpg

 

On the extreme side some coolers can even block both the RAM and the PCIe slots. Choose your cooler carefully when you start thinking about getting this board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_13.jpg

 

Looking at the top of the board we find the things we would normally find at the bottom of the board. The H55 Express chipset, the SATA ports, the USB and front panel headers... it is all very odd.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_07.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_08.jpg

 

The front panel audio header is very cramped, but this is to make room for the power regulation for the board. We also can see the NEC USB 3.0 controller in this shot.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3422_09.jpg

 

The I/O ports are fairly mundane. You find the typical VGA out that would exist on any other H55 board, as well as Audio, USB and PS/2 ports. The USB 3.0 ports are probably the only thing that is a little out of the usual. As more boards popup with these, they will be less so.

 

GIGABYTE has packed quite a bit into a very small space. It will be interesting to see how it performs with everything loaded up.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below