TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,155 Reviews & Articles | 39,554 News Posts

ASUS Rampage III Gene (X58 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

After trying out the Rampage III Extreme a short while back, today we see if its little brother is worthy of the name.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 23, 2010 6:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

As you would expect, the BIOS on the RIIIG is very complete. You are getting most of the same features that you would see with the RIIIE, but also some of the more consumer based features like we saw on the Crosshair IV Formula. For the hard-core overclocker the Extreme Tweaker page will be where you spend most of your time. ASUS, wanting to make things as streamlined as they can, have made sure most of the major settings can be adjusted from here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_17.jpg

 

There is also a sub-page that lets you play with the memory timings to get the best performance/highest clock.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_18.jpg

 

The Advanced page is another place that you will find yourself frequenting. You can adjust quite a few of the board's features here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_20.jpg

 

You can tweak some of the options for the iROG configuration as well as the RC connect.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_21.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_22.jpg

 

As with other ROG boards, you can enable or disable all of the onboard peripherals in one swoop.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_23.jpg

 

Of course, we cannot forget the ASUS fan options. As the RIIIG is very obviously a LAN motherboard, ASUS has made sure to include some great fan controls to ensure that you can get the best cooling with the amount of noise you are willing to put up with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_25.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_26.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

Going into the overclocking section of this review, the RIIIG has a lot to live up to. Its older brother was able to reach a lab record of 4.5GHz with our 980X on air. We were expecting quite a bit.

 

Right out the gate the RIIIG showed us its potential. We were able to get into Windows at 180x25, but things were far from stable. We were only able to complete one of our tests before the system started rebooting. After that we dialled things back until finally at 174x25 we found stability. This gives the RIIIG a top clock of 4.36GHz, which is really not too bad.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_27.png

 

You can see the validation for the i7 980X on the ASUS Rampage III Gene here.

 

No TurboV?

 

When we installed the RIIIG we ran into something of a dilemma. We could not find TurboV to install. We checked the DVD-ROM, we checked the website. No TurboV listed. Finally, as we had seen AI Suite II on the list of utilities, we decided to install that. Much to our surprise AI Suite II is not what it used to be. It seems that now it is a catch-all for a number of applications including TurboV EVO.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_28.png

 

When you first launch AI Suite II you get a toolbar. Clicking on the buttons will open up a menu with a certain amount of tools. Under the tools heading we found TurboV EVO. Of course, there are other features to be found in the new software, but we are more concerned with TurboV EVO and its new design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_29.png

 

I have to say that this new look is quite impressive. The red background ties in with the mystique that the ROG boards have and the Rampage series in particular. You still have the usual tools (CPU LevelUP, TurboKey etc) found in TurboV and by being combined into the AI Suite II it now adds more value to the tool.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_30.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_31.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_32.png

 

Interestingly enough, you can also change the looks and skin of which controls the look of the whole AI Suite.

 

RCTweakIT

 

As with all of the ROG boards, the RIIIG has RC Connect feature and the RCTweakIT software. It works the same on the RIIIG as it does on the other boards in the ROG line.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_90.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_91.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3416_92.png

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases