TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,248 Reviews & Articles | 40,748 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

ASRock 890GM Pro3 (AMD 890GX) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

With the Phenom II X6 the new big boy behind the AMD fence, we take a look at a 890GX board from ASRock that claims full support.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 21, 2010 3:16 pm
TweakTown Rating: 80%Manufacturer: AsRock

BIOS

 

The BIOS on the ASRock 890GM Pro3 follows the same lines as all of the other ASRock boards we have tested. It is still an AMI BIOS format with the extra features common to ASRock products thrown in. As ASRock is still a subsidiary of ASUS, you will also notice that the BIOS is very similar to the way ASUS lays their BIOSes out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_10.png

 

Almost everything you need to worry about is on the OC Tweaker pages. Here are all of the options for kicking your AMD CPU into high gear. If you are into playing with the IGP, there are even options to adjust that as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_11.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_12.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_13.png

 

There are one or two places to drill down and tweak additional performance settings. Like the memory timings for example.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_14.jpg

 

But as with most BIOSes, you are not going to get away with just hitting up this area of the setup. There are more places to hit before you can get up and running. Places like the CPU configuration, Chipset Settings, etc.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_17.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

The overclocking on the ASRock 890GM Pro 3 was not that great. We were able to push it some, but things got very touchy once we went over 242MHz on the bus. There was nothing we could do to get things stable. We even clocked the RAM down to an extremely low setting, but that did not help. In the end I would guess that the odd tracing layout hurts the system at those speeds. Most of the blue screen errors were memory related or related to Southbridge functions.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3412_18.png

 

You can see the validation for the Phenom II X6 on the ASRock 890GM Pro 3 Deluxe here.

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases