TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,922 Reviews & Articles | 38,164 News Posts

ASRock 880G Extreme3 (AMD 880G) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

ASRock hits us with their Extreme version of the AMD 880G chipset, complete with Core Unlocking and USB 3.0.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 14, 2010 11:25 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_11.jpg

 

The BIOS on the ASRock 880G Extreme3 is simple, yet powerful. They stuffed almost everything onto one single page. This page is the OC Tweaker page (hmmm, sounds a lot like AI Tweaker).

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_12.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_13.jpg

 

The Turbo50 profile is located right at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_14.jpg

 

There are also a couple of overclock methods. The one we used was the async.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_16.jpg

 

The ASRock 880G Extreme3 has some nice features for letting you adjust the multiplier (and overall clock speed) of each CPU core.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_17.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_18.jpg

 

The RAM dividers are a little limited, but it is nice to be able to store OC profiles.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_19.png

 

There were some odd settings in the memory configuration, but they did not seem to affect anything.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_20.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_21.jpg

 

The rest of the BIOS is pretty straight forward and has the typical options you would expect.

 


Overclocking

 

Overclocking the 880G Extreme3 was fairly easy. ASRock has made sure that the board is responsive to the demands of pushing the system. However, it does seem rather picky on the RAM front. I have been able to push the Kingston RAM to a little over 1600MHz before, but not on the 880G Extreme3. For some reason when I pushed the RAM close to 1600MHz the board would drop the video. I could be sitting at the desktop and the screen would go blank.

 

I also noticed that the voltage listings for RAM seemed to be a little off. To get an even 1.65V for the RAM I had to set it to 1.659. In the end at my stable clock of 251x16 I backed the RAM only down to 1338MHz which keeps it right around the default speed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_22.png

 

You can see the validation for the Phenom II X6 on the 880G Extreme3 here.

 


OC Tuner

 

The ASRock OC Tuner software looks quite cheesy. You would think that in this day of computer graphics they could have come up with something a little better looking.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_23.png

 

One of the issues that I did run into using this software was that pushing the system to 251MHz clocked the RAM over 1600MHz. This caused the system to fail (again) as the graphics relying on a combination of sideport memory and the installed RAM could not deal with that speed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_24.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_25.png

 

Still, you do have options to do some minor tinkering with this software. However, it is not an enthusiast level overclocking tool.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3398_26.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary (even using the same exact same hardware configuration). Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases