TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,499 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

TRENDnet TEW-691GR 450Mbps Wireless Router - Setup and WebUI

Is the typical 300Mbps not enough for you anymore? Try the 450Mbps TEW-691GR wireless router from TRENDnet.

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jul 13, 2010 10:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 77%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

Setup and WebUI

 

After our experience with the great Setup Wizard on the TEW-673GRU, we were a little disappointed to find that there is not one on the TEW-691GR. To set this up you have to head to the default IP of 192.168.10.1 in your favorite browser. From there you just need to log in to configure the rest.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_11.png

 

One of the first things you will need to do to get the TEW-691GR setup is to set the time. Without the proper time settings you can potentially have issues connecting to anything internal or external.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_12.png

 

After that you should probably change the admin password (actually, you would be setting one).

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_13.png

 

From there you can opt to change (or configure if needed) your WAN (internet) and LAN settings. These pages are self-explanatory and other than appearance are about what you would get from any other router.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_14.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_15.png

 

The QoS settings on the TEW-691GR are quite limited; they seem to revolve around upload speeds across the board. They are not the detailed and granular settings we are used to from other TRENDnet products.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_16.png

 

Moving on to setup our wireless configuration, we hit the basic settings. These are items like SSID, Wireless Mode, frequency, WDS, and setting the MCS for the router.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_17.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_18.png

 

Speaking of MCS, we found a slight error in the MCS listings. Looking at the list everything looks good up to MCS 15. The numbers are accurate for the MCS type when using a Guard Interval of 800ns (the first number is for 20Hz while the parenthesis is for 40Hz). However, there is an MSC 32 listed as 6M. Checking the specs for n there is no MCS 32. The closest is MCS 31; if that is really MCS 31 it should be listed as 260M (540M). That is following the same 800ns GI. If it is a transposing of numbers (MCS 23) it should be 195M (405M) if we use an 800ns GI. At this time we are not sure what the right answer is, but we will certainly try out this MCS 32 to see what it really is.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_19.png

 

Continuing on the journey to getting setup, we hit the advanced wireless pages. For most this page should be left to the defaults. The settings here are important to remember if you are having odd reception issues, though.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_20.png

 

A VERY important page for setting up your wireless is the security page. Here you have multiple options for security. The recommended security for the average home user is going to be WPA2-PSK with AES encryption. Using WEP or WPA can leave you open to intrusion, as can using TKIP.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_21.png

 

Another page that will be important to some is the Wireless Protected Setup. This technology allows you to establish a connection using an easy to remember (but hard to break) PIN. When you utilize the WPS setup the router in question will send all of the configuration information to the client including the password for whatever security you are using. It is a handy feature for those that want to use it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_22.png

 

Moving on from the wireless settings, we get into the advanced features of the TEW-691GR. One of the first pages is an interesting one; normally a DMZ is not a specific IP address but is a port (or a network card). Here you can select the device you want to put outside the router's protection by entering the IP of the device. It is a very simple way of doing things, but it is also effective.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_23.png

 

The virtual server page is simple; here you setup rules to allow certain traffic to be forwarded to a specific IP address. This is handy for FTP, E-Mail, File, or Web servers. The routing page (shown below) is another one of those pages that most people will not need to deal with at all. However, as you can see it is very functional if you like (or need to) establish static routing inside your network.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_24.png

 

The access control page is another one we found to be quite impressive. Here we have options to control the flow of data in multiple ways. You can block specific data types (by port), IP addresses, web site URLs and more.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3395_25.png

 

The gaming tab is a little less than what we expected. While it does let you get things in order for any games that you might have, it does not have any preloaded game profiles. This is something of a disappointment. It means that you will have to know the port ranges used by the games you play. Maybe in a firmware update they will add these in.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases