TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,024 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

GIGABYTE GA-890FXA-UD7 (AMD 890FX+SB850) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

Looking for a new board to take on that Sexa-Core AMD CPU? - The GIGABYTE 890FXA-UD7 could be the one.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 7, 2010 5:46 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

The BIOS on the GA-890FXA-UD7 is the same as other GB motherboards. They all follow the Award layout. For most people buying any of the boards in the UD7 line-up the MB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T) pages are where it is at.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_18.jpg

 

For our testing we used the F2 version of the BIOS. The reason for the update was a few minor problems with memory and the Phenom II X6 1090T. When using the F1 BIOS the system would reboot randomly during updates, driver installs etc. Once that was past we were able to get in and play around.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_19.jpg

 

On the MIT pages you have a good selection of options for overclocking and tweaking. The new Core Performance option in the BIOS works with the "T" series CPUs from AMD. This allows the board to dynamically increase the speed of half of the CPU cores for better single and dual threaded applications.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_20.jpg

 

The voltage settings are a mix of direct input (although you still have to cycle through them) and offset. It was a little bit of an odd configuration to be perfectly honest.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_21.jpg

 

The DRAM page is the typical one you find on a high-end AMD board. The memory dividers were a little limited, though.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_22.jpg

 

The Advanced BIOS Features have both CPU and system side settings.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_23.jpg

 

The Integrated Peripherals pages gives you the flexibility to tweak or even to shut down all the extras on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_24.jpg

 

On the PC Health Status pages you can set all of the warning options. At the top of the page is a setting for Hardware Thermal Control. We discovered that this was causing a very large issue with our overclocking tests. If you plan to overclock with this board we would recommend disabling this.

 


Overclocking

 

When we went to OC the GA-890FXA we ran into a very odd issue. Every time we pushed the bus over 240MHz the system would throttle the CPU back to a x4 multiplier. This would not be a big issue if the board would pull out of that, but no matter what load we put on it the board stayed at x4. We turned off Cool N Quiet and core performance boost and even Core Control to no avail. The system was still cutting back over 240MHz.

 

Then, looking in the PC Health page we noticed the Hardware Thermal Control setting. We had over looked this before as the CPU was never overheating. We disabled this setting and magically we were over 240MHz.

 

In the end we were able to hit a stable OC of 4.016GHz (251x16). This is not bad, although it did take us much longer to get to this point than normal.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_25.png

 

You can see the validation for the GA-890FXA-UD7 here.

 


Easy Tune 6

 

As a part of all of our reviews now we are going to touch on any software based overclocking tools that may be included. With GIGABYTE this is going to be Easy Tune.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_26.png

 

Here you can see your system status at a glance as well as overclock the CPU, memory and GPU fairly quickly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_27.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_28.png

 

The overclocking functions break down into Easy, Advanced and then Easy Boost. We played around with all three on this board and found them to be decent tools.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_29.png

 

The GPU overclocking feature is something of a nice touch, although we did not use it at all during our testing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_30.png

 

The monitor tab is clean, although I wish there were a few more options for monitoring the temperatures and voltages.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3385_31.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases