TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,688 Reviews & Articles | 36,220 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ASUS P7H55D-M EVO (Intel H55 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

After spending some time with AMD's 8xx series chipsets, we return to the Intel H5x with the ASUS P7H55D-M EVO.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 2, 2010 4:28 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

I have a feeling that ASUS does not know how to make a product with no overclocking controls. Even in something that is clearly for the mid-range user we find the usual AI Tweaker page. Although the typical CPU LevelUP is missing we still get a pretty good deal of overclocking options handed to us on the P7H55D-M.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_11.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_12.jpg

 

Inside the AI Tweaker page is the DRAM Timing Control page. This one is pretty self-explanatory.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_13.jpg

 

The Advanced page contains the CPU configuration page. On this page are options for C-States, SpeedStep, Hyper Threading, and much more.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_14.jpg

 

Also on the Advanced page is the Uncore Configuration. On this page you find all the adjustments for the HD GMA found on the Clarkdale CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_15.jpg

 

One thing that we want to mention again here (as it is very important to HTPC owners) are the Q-Fan controls. These things are great for someone looking to control all of the fans that can plug into the P7H55D-M EVO. The manual controls are exceptional. Although it was not part of the scope of this review we tinkered around with them at stock speeds and were very impressed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_17.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_18.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

Ok, it's an ASUS board. It overclocked like a dream. We started off high as we knew our Core i5 661 was capable of hitting at least 4.4GHz. So we began our overclocking journey at 176MHz BCLK and a 25 multiplier. This gave us a clock of 4.415GHz which is not bad at all. Getting over this speed was a little bit of an issue though. We found that pushing past this meant we had to bump the voltage over 1.35V at this voltage the GPU began to have serious stability issues. We saw artifacts on the desktop and even watched the display driver crash several times. This means that the motherboard is capable of much more, just that the CPU is not when you are using the IGP.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_19.png

 

You can see the validation for the P7H55D-M EVO here.

 


TurboV

 

The TurboV implementation on the P7H55D-M EVO is different from what you would normally expect. The Auto Tune and even the easy OC controls are absent. You only have the manual controls here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_20.png

 

You also have a GPU boost mode that lets you kick up the speed of the HD GMA. Although I have to be honest; I have no idea why you would want it. It is not going to get you much performance.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_21.png

 

Another departure from the typical TurboV is that the Turbo Key functions have been broken out into a separate application. This is a little odd but nothing that would prevent you from using the software just like you would with the normal TurboV.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_22.png

 


Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below