TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,104 News Posts

ASUS P7H55D-M EVO (Intel H55 Express) Motherboard - The Motherboard

After spending some time with AMD's 8xx series chipsets, we return to the Intel H5x with the ASUS P7H55D-M EVO.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 2, 2010 4:28 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: ASUS

The Board

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_01.jpg

 

The P7H55D-M EVO is a Micro ATX board but it is a fairly clean one. As this board does not have options for Crossfire ASUS has some room to organize things and keep them cleaned up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_05.jpg

 

Taking a close look at the RAM slots and CPU socket we see the now friendly 'one-arm" style slots the 24-Pin power connector and the "MemOK!" button. As we have talked about before you can use this button to overcome issues with RAM compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_06.jpg

 

Looking at the top of the CPU socket we find the awkward placement of the 8-pin Aux power connector. It is very close to the heatsink and is fairly easy to get on, but a pain to get off.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_07.jpg

 

Down on the peripheral side we can see there are two 4-pin fan headers side by side for extra cooling. This worked well for our Hyper 212 with the extra fan. More importantly we find two PCIe x1 slots, a single x16 PCIe slot and a single PCI slot.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_10.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_08.jpg

 

The other side of the board has the SATA and PATA ports. There are two clusters of SATA ports there are four near the RAM slots and another two near the bottom edge of the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_09.jpg

 

For I/O ports on the P7H55D-M only two things stand out. The first is the use of a DVI-D port. For many people this means buying a new cable. The majority of cables that ship with monitors are DVI-I. As you can see from the diagram below, well they are not compatible. The other items of note are the two USB 3.0 ports.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3377_90.png

 

To wrap up our walk around, the P7H55D-M appears to be designed for the mid-range home system or perhaps a higher end HTPC. It has enough slots to cover a few extra peripherals like a TV tuner (or two). It has a clean layout so that you can stuff this into a small form factor case and still expect good airflow.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases