TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,683 Reviews & Articles | 36,171 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Creative Zen X-Fi Style 8GB MP3 and Video Player - Technical Overview

Creative Labs are anything but newcomers to the world of audio, but they are to TweakTown. So today, let's take a look at their latest portable device; the Zen X-Fi Style.

| MP3 Players in Audio, Sound & Speakers | Posted: Jul 1, 2010 2:19 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Creative

Technical Overview

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_22.jpg

 

Speaking technically, let's start by looking at some specifications.

 

Capacity: 8GB / 16GB / 32GB

 

Size: 83.6mm x 48.7mm x 11.7mm

 

Weight: 56g

 

LCD: 2.4" 262k Color TFT LCD, 320 x 240 pixels

 

Songs: 8GB

 

Up to 4,000 WMAs/ 266hrs (Approx. 4mins per song at 64kbps WMA)

 

Up to 2,000 MP3/ 133hrs (Approx. 4mins per song at 128kbps MP3)

 

X-Fi™ Audio Enhancement: Crystallizer / Expand effects

 

Video / Audio Out: PAL / NTSC (via A/V cable sold separately)

 

RSS: Displays RSS content feeds offline (Sync via PC/Laptop connected to the internet)

 

Power Charging: Yes (via PC-USB or ZEN USB Power Adapter (sold separately))

 

Video Playback Formats3: WMV9, MPEG4-SP3, DivX3 4/5 and XviD3

 

Up to 640 x 480 video size

 

Audio Playback Formats: MP3, WMA (DRM9), WAV (IMA-ADPCM) Audible4, AAC4, FLAC4.

 

Photo Formats Supported: JPEG, BMP (TIFF, GIF, PNG to be converted with bundled software)

 

Battery: Built-in Li-ion battery

 

FM Radio: Built-in FM Radio with 32 preset stations

 

EQ Settings: 8 presets and 5-band custom EQ

 

Organizer: Clock, Alarm, Calendar, Task, and Contacts

 

Album Art: Yes

 

Voice Recording: Yes

 

Built-in speaker: Yes

 

Connectivity: USB 2.0

 

Quite an impressive spec list, but I would expect nothing less from Creative who is famed for giving the user a heap of cool extras to play with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_23.jpg

 

Like other portables out there at the moment, the Zen Style comes in 8, 16 and 32GB models. For testing I received the 8GB model, which is certainly more than ample to firstly understand the beast I'm dealing with and also to store a behemoth of your favorite music.

 

I would be inclined to think that the larger models are aimed at people wanting to also carry their video and picture stores with them on the go.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_24.jpg

 

The screen is quite small if I'm being honest, coming in at 2.4" with 262k colors and also being a TFT LCD. The resolution is 320 x 240 pixels.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_13.jpg

 

The weight is another great feature coming in at feather light 56g, which is a thing of beauty once you have the Zen in your pocket and realize how heavy other portables can be.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_12.jpg

 

Battery life is given as 25hrs continuous audio playback and 5hrs video playback.

 

Next we have the X-Fi crystallizer and expanding effects which have been carried over from previous success with the X-Fi PCI based chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_09.jpg

 

Most audio and video formats are supported as you can see, which is an important feature itself and I think Creative took this into consideration when designing the Zen Style.

 

There is, however, still more. The last two really important features are the FM radio and the EQ with eight built in presets and a five-band custom EQ.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3376_16.jpg

 

Connectivity is universal thanks to USB 2.0. Of which, I could think of no better alternative.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Audio, Sound & Speakers content at our Audio, Sound & Speakers reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below