TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,919 Reviews & Articles | 38,139 News Posts

Corsair Force F120 120GB SandForce Solid State Drive - The Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD

Corsair takes advantage of SandForce's new 7% over provisioning and launches the new Force Series with expanded capacities.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 1, 2010 5:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Corsair

The Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_06.jpg

 

The outside of the Corsair F120 has everything you could want. Here we see the brushed aluminum case with a sticker on the top side that gives us the model and serial number.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_07.jpg

 

The bottom of the F120 has the four mounting locations that make installation to an adapter very easy.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_08.jpg

 

Both sides of the F120 also have the standard mounting locations that make installation easy in notebook adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_09.jpg

 

On the back we see that standard SATA power and data connectors are where they should be so installing the Corsair Force Series of products will be very easy in nearly all computers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_10.jpg

 

As mentioned previously Corsair is shipping the Force drives with a desktop adapter. Here we see the drive loaded into the adapter. As you can see the drive sits off to one side as it should. This keeps the SATA power and data ports in line with specifications that state where they ports should be.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_11.jpg

 

The Corsair F100 that we looked at used what I call the Super Capacitor PCB since it has a spot on the back for the enterprise SF-1500's super capacitor. The F120 uses a different PCB that we have not ran across in a review before.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3375_12.jpg

 

The F120 also uses Intel flash this time, sixteen total when you add both sides of the PCB. The F100 used Micron flash but we suspect the specs are the same since Intel and Micron now have a joint venture on flash memory.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases